WS Cox Plate

WS Cox Plate

WS Cox Plate

Date: Saturday 24th October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $3,000,000
2014 Winner: Adelaide

The WS Cox Plate is a middle distance Group 1 race that is held annually at Melbourne’s Moone Valley racecourse in Victoria. The race is one of the biggest events in the Melbourne Spring Carnival and also one of the richest races in the world. With a purse of $3,000,000,000 in prize money, the WS Cox Plate is regarded as one of the premier weight for age distance race in the carnival.

The race debuted in 1922 worth just 1000 pounds in prize money and nearly a century on the WS Cox Plate has continued to light up Australian horse racing with some pulsating and high quality racing in Melbourne. The event assembles elite horses and in recent years only quality thoroughbreds have managed to record victories. The 2013 edition of the race was nothing short of spectacular and after a competitive and hotly contested race Shamus Award did well to bag the title with a strong finish.

Happy Trails and Fiorente both settled for second and third respectively. For the better part of its history, the WS Cox Plate has come to be known as the platform for legends and quite rightly so, the event has produced some of the finest and most revered horses in Australia. Some of the notable horses to grace this event include the outstanding Kingston Town who won the race three times in a row from 1980-82. The WS Cox Plate has served great memories and exciting action for horse racing lovers across the country and there is no doubt the race is a timeless classic.

This year’s edition is expected to be bigger and better and considering the price money up for grabs and the prestigious nature of the event, there is no doubt the WS Cox Plate well yet again be the perfect stage for the best of the best in Australian horse racing. Other notable winners to win the WS Cox Plate include So you Think who won the race consecutively in 2009 and 2010, Ocean Park in 2012 and Maldivian in 2008.

WS Cox Plate recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Adelaide Fawkner Silent Achiever 2:03.7
2013 Shamus Award Happy Trails Fiorente 2:05.2
2012 Ocean Park All Too Hard Pierro 2:04.1
2011 Pinker Pinker Jimmy Choux Rekindled Interest 2:05.3
2010 So You Think Zipping Whobegotyou 2:07.4
2009 So You Think Manhattan Rain Zipping 2:03.9
2008 Maldivian Zipping Samantha Miss 2:06.9
2007 El Segundo Wonderful World Haradasun 2:06.3
2006 Fields Of Omagh El Segundo Pompeii Ruler 2:06.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lotteria Fields Of Omagh 2:09.3
2004 Savabeel Fields Of Omagh Starcraft 2:06.9
2003 Fields Of Omagh Defier Lonhro 2:07.6
2002 Northerly Defier Grandera 2:06.3
2001 Northerly Sunline Viscount 2:05.8
2000 Sunline Diatribe Referral 2:07.7
1999 Sunline Tie The Knot Sky Heights 2:05.4
1998 Might And Power Northern Drake Tycoon Lil 2:03.5
1997 Dane Ripper Filante Vialli 2:07.7
1996 Saintly Filante All Our Mob 2:05.7
1995 Octagonal Mahogany Station Hand 2:06.3
1994 Solvit Rough Habit Redding 2:02.6
1993 The Phantom Chance Solvit Golden Sword 2:02.8
1992 Super Impose Kinjite Slight Chance 2:05.5
1991 Surfers Paradise Super Impose Sydeston 2:03.8
1990 Better Loosen Up Sydeston Canny Lad 2:01.5
1989 Almaarad Stylish Century Empire Rose 2:03.2
1988 Our Poetic Prince Horlicks Bonecrusher 2:06.9