Warwick Stakes

Warwick Stakes

Warwick Stakes

Date: Saturday 22nd August 2015
Track: Warwick Farm racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Tiger Tees

The Warwick Stakes is an exciting Group 2 race that takes place at Sydney’s Warwick Farm Racecourse every year in August. The race is one of the major Group 2 events in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and is run under set weight conditions over a sprint distance of 1400M. Last year, the Warwick Stakes showcased some high quality and competitive racing but Veyron did well to finish first ahead of Streama and Rain Affair who both had to settle for second and third respectively.

The race is today worth $175,000 and is regarded as one of the best Group 2 races for emerging super stars of the turf looking to make a mark in one of Australia’s biggest racing Carnivals. The Warwick Stakes is held on the same date as the Group 3 Sliver Shadow Stakes and The Up and Coming Stakes which should complete a great line up of breathtaking racing.

In recent years, the Warwick Stakes has managed to attract a diversity of talented sprinters. The ideal lead up event for the weight for age race is the Group 3 Missile Stakes which is held 2 weeks earlier. Although winning the Warwick Stakes and the Missile Stakes double is not an easy feat for any horse, in 2012 outstanding horse Pinwheel completed a remarkable Spring season with a magnificent double.

Other notable horses to feature in this race include Sunline in 1999, Racing To Win back in 2008, and Lonhro in 2001 through to 2003. The Chelmsford Stakes is seen by horse trainers as the next progression for horses that do well in the Warwick Stakes. The race may not be one of the high profile events in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival but it always provides an exciting and thrilling show for horse racing enthusiasts and jockeys alike.

Warwick Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Tiger Tees Royal Descent Criterion 1:27.7
2013 Veyron Streama Rain Affair 1:21.5
2012 Pinwheel Secret Admirer Danleigh 1:22.5
2011 Pinwheel Ilovethiscity Startsmeup 1:25.8
2010 Metal Bender Triple Honour Danleigh 1:24.2
2009 Trusting O’lonhro Mr Baritone 1:21.5
2008 Racing to Win Gallant Tess Danzippo 1:24.5
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Courts In Session Racing To Win Desert War 1:23.3
2005 Sir Dex Dizelle Sportsman 1:22.8
2004 Private Steer So Assertive Niello 1:22.7
2003 Lonhro Clangalang Defier 1:24.3
2002 Defier Lonhro Republic Lass 1:22.8
2001 Lonhro Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge 1:17.3
2000 Al Mansour Hire Celestial Choir 1:14.7
1999 Sunline Tie The Knot Referral 1:22.1
1998 What Can I Say Star Covet Tie The Knot 1:27.6
1997 Filante Quick Flick Juggler 1:21.0
1996 Filante Saintly Dupain 1:21.7
1995 Star Dancer Stony Bay Our Mr Woodman 1:23.7
1994 March Hare Slight Chance Kingston Bay 1:22.9
1993 Prince Of Praise Silk Ali Soho Square 1:22.3
1992 Shaftesbury Avenue Super Impose Quick Score 1:23.8
1991 Super Impose Livistona Lane Royal Creation 1:24.7
1990 Super Impose Eastern Classic Chaleyer 1:24.3
1989 Groucho Palace Revolt Card Shark 1:26.7
1988 Flotilla Never Quit Wong 1:22.4