VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

Date: Saturday 7th November 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2600 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Le Roi

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a popular Group 3 race held every year at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria. The race is run over a long distance of 2600M and is among some of the longest races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Until 2010, the race was known as the Queens Cup before it was renamed to the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the course distance upped from 2500M to 2600M. The event is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money and run under handicap conditions.

The 2013 edition of the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was absolutely entertaining and amidst the twist and turns all over the 2600M, Precedence carried the day with a fine finish in the last stretch with Sertorius and Lets Make A Deal having to settle for second and third respectively. The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes will now be held on the same day as the Emirates Stakes and the Patinack Farm Classic during the 2014 Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The event is a great progression for horses that performed well in the Group 1 Caulfield Cup, The Melbourne Cup and the Group 1 Moonee Valley Cup. In light of this, there is always great talent on show in this race. The Group 2 Sundown Classic is the next race on the agenda for horses that contest the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes. In 2012, the amazing Tanby emerged from a third place finish in the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes on course towards a remarkable victory in the Sundown Classic.

In 2013, Precedence was on hand to claim the Moonee Valley Cup and the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes double in breathtaking fashion. Other notable horses to feature in the race include Moudre who took the title in 2010 on course towards a second place finish in the Geelong Cup. The horse also did well to finish a respectable fourth in Lexus Stakes. Ironstein also won the event in 2011 while Puissance De Lune replicated the same success a year later in 2012.

VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Le Roi Prince Of Penzance Big Memory 2:43.1
2013 Precedence Sertorius Let’s Make Adeal 2:46.4
2012 Puissance De Lune Ironstein Tanby 2:44.2
2011 Ironstein Shootoff Paddy O’Reilly 2:44.8
2010 Moudre Capecover Persian Star 2:45.2
2009 Sterling Prince Crossthestart Naval Escort 2:34.5
2008 Capecover Light Vision Baughurst 2:38.8
2007 Zavite Cefalu Completion 2:38.5
2006 Gallant Guru Magic Instinct Fooram 2:40.6
2005 Our Smoking Joe Coalesce Grey Song 2:33.8
2004 Fantastic Love Manawa King Da Capo 2:44.8
2003 Zazzman Lord Erin Delvecchio 2:37.5
2002 Makybe Diva Spirit Of Westbury Don Eduardo 2:35.7
2001 Hatha Anna Ascana Tiger’s Eye 2:40.9
2000 Savrocca Ultra Smug Mayshiel 2:37.8
1999 Zerpour Ithiyati Cronus 2:41.0
1998 Might And Power Oregon Star Bulta 2:38.5
1997 Vita Man =1 Bright Spot =1 Royal Snack 2:38.0
1996 Valance Beau Heed Storm 2:36.1
1995 Pindi Quick Ransom Dark Ksar 2:40.1
1994 Bullwinkle Bonamichie Nassabidi 2:40.3
1993 Hear That Bell Fans London Bridge 2:35.0
1992 Kawtuban Rough Habit Nassa Rocket 2:33.0
1991 Frontier Ban Mantlepiece Stylish Century 2:33.4
1990 Savage Toss Tramaurea Ideal Centreman 2:31.8
1989 Our Shannon Lad Vo Rogue It’s Candide 2:36.6
1988 Zamakima Alfarasdq Be Reasonable 2:38.0