Villiers Stakes

Villiers Stakes

Villiers Stakes

Date: Saturday 19th December 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Rudy

The Villiers Stakes is a middle distance race that is worth a remarkable $175,000 in Prize money. The race is held during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival annually in December at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The Villiers Stakes is a great Group 2 handicap race run over 1600M and over the last few years, the event has generated competitive and exciting racing much to the pleasure of horse racing enthusiasts in Sydney and Australia at large.

Ninth Legion won the 2013 edition of the Villiers Stakes after beating a strong challenge from Limes who settled in second. Coming through in third was Alma’s Fury. The venue of the 2013 race was shifted from the 1600M Turf at Rosehill to The Kensington Circuit measuring 1550M in length.

All the same, the change did not affect the quality of the race and just like before the Villiers Stakes lived up to its billing as one of the most exciting Group races in the Sydney Spring Carnival. The race in recent years tends to assemble a good field of above average and sometimes classier horses and most trainers look at this race as the perfect event to end the year.

The Villiers Stakes favors horses gifted in mile or middle distance racing and horses that perform well in the event can consider running in the Group 3 Summer Cup that comes a few weeks later. The last horse to manage a victory in both the Villiers Stakes and the Summer Cup in the same year was Aqua D’Amore back in 2005. Other exciting horses to feature in the Villiers Stakes include Monton back in 2011 and All Legal in 2012.

Villiers Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Rudy I’m Imposing Strawberry Boy 1:36.2
2013 Ninth Legion Limes Alma’s Fury 1:31.4
2012 All Legal Alma’s Fury Darci Be Good 1:35.8
2011 Monton Kontiki Park King Lionheart 1:36.3
2010 Dances On Waves Mentality Snow Alert 1:35.0
2009 Palacio De Cristal Parfumier Spinney 1:34.7
2008 (Jan) Honor In War Takeover Target Alverta 1.21.5
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Utzon Anwaar Spirit of Tara 1.35.2
2005 Aqua D’Amore Malcolm Fiery Venture 1.35.4
2004 Ike’s Dream Dante’s Paradiso Sir Dex 1.33.1
2003 On a High Mufti Jeremiad 1.35.8
2002 Boreale This Manshood Silver Birch 1.34.8
2001 Carael Boy Space Age Osca Warrior 1.36.5
2000 Grey And Gold Taberann Forbill 1.36.1
1999 Final Fantasy So Precise Huge Demand 1.35.4
1998 Referral Juggler Banner Headline 1.34.9
1997 Arletty Quick Flick Banner Headline 1.35.1
1996 Touch Of Force Nick’s Joy Persian Flyer 1.34.0
1995 Here’s The Prince Zouslan Pragmatism Pragmatism 1.34.5
1994 Aunty Mary Nick’s Joy Cohort 1.34.3
1993 Cobbora Square The Circle Pharaoh 1.33.8
1992 Soho Square Pharaoh Manly Star 1.35.1
1991 Shining Wind Mighty Rimu Pontormo 1.35.0
1990 Post Elect Don’t Play Our Dawn Star 1.34.4
1989 Spot The Rock Merimbula Bay Mighty Grey 1.34.7
1988 Tumble On Mystical Prince Tierra Rist 1.33.3