Underwood Stakes

How Now Stakes

Underwood Stakes

Date: Saturday 19th September 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2014 Winner: Foreteller

The Underwood Stakes is one of the major Group 1 races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event takes center stage annually at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne and is run over a middle distance of 1800M. The weight-for-age race is regarded as one of the premier Group 1 Middle distance races in the Melbourne Spring and is today worth up to $350,000 in prize money. The Underwood Stakes has a proud history of producing some of Australia’s most revered middle distance runners and even in 2013, the event showcased high quality racing but in the end, it’s a Dundeel was on hand to claim the spoils in what was a hotly contested race.

Coming through in second and third respectively was Atlantic Jewel and Dear Demi. The Underwood Stakes is by far the most ideal race for horses that are looking to test their abilities over middle distances. However sprinters keen on making a mark on long and middle distance races can also consider running in the Underwood Stakes. The event is a great build up and guide for the Group 1 Caulfield Cup and the WS Cox Plate.

A number of talented middle distance runners have emerged from the race including So You Think back in 2010, who also claimed a second consecutive WS Cox title in the same year. The Atlantic Jewel came from a second place finish in the Underwood Stakes on course towards a hard fought victory in the Caulfield Cup. In 2012 though, outstanding horse Ocean Park finished second in the Underwood Stakes on course towards victory in the Caulfield Cup.

The horse would then proceed to Moone Valley and take home the WS Cox plate in what would have been a remarkable treble had he won the Underwood Stakes. However, Heart of Dreams was the last horse to win the Underwood Stakes and the Caulfield Cup double back in 2009. The Underwood Stakes is always an exciting and thrilling race and is never short of genuine champions. The event is expected to be a major highlight in the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Underwood Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Foreteller Happy Trails Crackerjack King 1:50.2
2013 It’s A Dundeel Atlantic Jewel Dear Demi 1:54.7
2012 Ocean Park Voila Ici December Draw 1:51.4
2011 Lion Tamer Southern Speed Midas Touch 1:50.0
2010 So You Think Dariana Metal Bender 1:49.5
2009 Heart Of Dreams Whobegotyou Predatory Pricer 1:49.5
2008 Weekend Hussler Pompeii Ruler Littorio 1:49.8
2007 Rubiscent Miss Finland Marasco 1:49.0
2006 El Segundo Polar Bear Molotov 1.49.5
2005 Perlin Our Smoking Joe Shes Justa Tad 1.52.7
2004 Elvstroem Shes Archie Delzao 1.50.0
2003 Mummify Grey Song Aint Seen Nothing 1.49.5
2002 Northerly Magical Miss Don Eduardo 1.48.9
2001 Northerly Universal Prince Kaapstad Way 1.50.2
2000 Oliver Twist Skoozi Please Kaapstad Way 1.47.6
1999 Intergaze Sky Heights Inaflury 1.48.5
1998 Tie The Knot Jezabeel Umrum 1.49.5
1997 Always Aloof Istidaad Marble Halls 1.49.6
1996 Octagonal Seascay Count Chivas 1.50.4
1995 Sharscay Unsolved Baryshnikov 1.48.9
1994 Jeune Paris Lane Mahogany 1.49.4
1993 Runyon Mannerism Innocent King 2.04.1
1992 Prince Salieri Subzero Delmar 2.07.1
1991 Dr. Grace Sydeston Shivas Revenge 2.06.3
1990 The Phantom Royal Creation Zabeel 2.01.5
1989 Almaarad Apollo Run The Phantom 2.01.9
1988 Authaal Fair Sir Shantaroun 2.01.2