Turnbull Stakes

Blazer Stakes

Turnbull Stakes

Date: Saturday 3rd October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Lucia Valentina

The Turnbull Stakes is an exclusive four year old or upward only Group 1 race that comes around during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival in Victoria, South East Australia. The event is run over a middle distance of 2000M every year in October at the Flemington Racecourse. The Turnbull Stakes is today worth up to $500,000 in prize money and is run under set weight conditions. The relatively bigger purse has done well to attract quality horses to the race and in 2013 Happy Trails capped a modest and quiet start to the Melbourne Spring with a well earned victory in the race.

Puissance De Lune finished second despite putting up a great run with Fawkner coming through in third. The Turnbull Stakes was upgraded back in 2005 from a Group 2 race to a Group 1 event and since then, the race has grown strength by Strength to become one of the major distance races in the Melbourne Spring. Although the event has been overshadowed by other big Group 1 aces such as the Caulfield Cup, a lot of horse trainers ands jockeys still hold the event in high regard and true to that, the Turnbull Stakes has never failed to assemble elite and high quality horses.

The event is always a perfect build up for the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups. Horses that perform well in the race can also consider running in the Caulfield Stakes. In the last decade, horses that have won the Turnbull Stakes have gone on to either win or do remarkably well in the Caulfield Cup, the WS Cox Plate or The Melbourne Cup. In 2013, Fawkner finished third in the Turnbull Stakes on course towards an easy win in the Caulfield Cup just a few weeks later.

In 2012 though, outstanding 4yo Green Moon became the last horse to win the Turnbull Stakes and the Melbourne Cup double. Rekindled Interest back in 2011 won the WS Cox Plate after finishing fifth in the Turnbull Stakes. The horse would also go on to win the McKinnon Stakes at the Flemington Racecourse. Based on the number of stars to emerge from the Turnbull Stakes there is no doubt the event is by far one of the best distance races and even in 2014, the race is expected to light some fireworks in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Turnbull Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Lucia Valentina Lidari Brambles 2:01.8
2013 Happy Trails Puissance De Lune Fawkner 2:02.9
2012 Green Moon Seville December Draw 2:02.1
2011 December Draw Glass Harmonium Playing God 2:03.9
2010 Zipping Shocking Shoot Out 2:03.2
2009 Efficient Predatory Pricer Scenic Shot 2:01.6
2008 Littorio Master O’Reilly Zipping 2:02.4
2007 Devil Moon Scenic Shot Haradasun 2:03.4
2006 Sphenophyta Our Smoking Joe Aqua D Amore 2:01.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lad Of The Manor Confectioner 2:01.5
2004 Elvstroem Mummify Confectioner 2:00.4
2003 Studebaker Pentastic Strasbourg 2:04.0
2002 Northerly Dash For Cash Fields Of Omagh 2:02.3
2001 Sunline Universal Prince Primrose Sands 2:03.9
2000 Fairway Sunline Diatribe 2:02.2
1999 Sky Heights Ruy Lopez Inaflury 2:04.6
1998 Aerosmith Gold Guru Our Unicorn 2:05.8
1997 Marble Halls Always Aloof Seascay 2:03.1
1996 Doriemus Beaux Art Cheviot 2:09.3
1995 All Our Mob Doriemus Sir Kingi 2:01.1
1994 Redding Paris Lane Tristalove 2:03.7
1993 The Phantom Chance Naturalism Kiwi Golfer 2:05.7
1992 Naturalism London Bridge Mr Eurostar 2:03.0
1991 Lets Elope Prince Salieri Renteeno 2:01.9
1990 Better Loosen Up Royal Creation Shuzohra 2:04.4
1989 Super Impose Research Sydeston 2:03.4
1988 Vo Rogue Apollo Run Ebeli Show 2:01.9