Toorak Handicap

Blazer Stakes

Toorak Handicap

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2014 Winner: Trust In A Gust

The Toorak Handicap is an annual quality handicap Group 1 race that comes as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is held at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria, South East Australia. Run over 1600M, the Toorak Handicap is a perfect mile race for emerging horses and in its illustrious history, the event has always elicited great emotions and passion from different horses that have featured in it.

The Toorak Handicap is today worth up to $350,000 in prize money and in last year’s edition of the race, Solzhenitsyn had to produce a strong final push to win the title. Coming through in second and third respectively was Trevieres and Blackie in what was a hotly contested race. The Toorak Handicap has endured a number of name changes for the last three decades. The event debuted as The IXL in 1985 and was then renamed to The Elders Mile four years later. However, the race has maintained the same name since 1990 after it was renamed yet again to the Toorak Handicap.

The event will feature on the same date as major group 1 races that include the Caulfield Stakes and the Caulfield Guineas. The Toorak Handicap is ideal for sprinters experienced in mile races and in most cases the event is always won by a high quality or in-from horse. The most ideal build up race for the Toorak Handicap is the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and the last horse to win these two races in the same year was Barely A Moment in 2005. The same success was also replicated by Regal Roller in 2004.

The Toorak Handicap is a great guide to other handicap races and winners in the race always put up great performances in other major middle distance races. Poor Judge for example finished second in the race back in 2011 on course towards a remarkable victory in the Group 3 Chatham Stakes. Solzhenitsyn is however the only horse in recent years to win the Toorak Handicap consecutively in 2012 and 2013. The race is expected to be a major highlight in the Melbourne Spring this year.

Toorak Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Trust In A Gust Speediness Desert Jeuney 1:35.2
2013 Solzhenitsyn Trevieres Blackie 1:36.4
2012 Solzhenitsyn Spirit Song Yosei 1:35.2
2011 King Mufhasa King’s Rose Luen Yat Forever 1:36.2
2010 More Joyous We’re Gonna Rock Poor Judge 1:36.4
2009 Allez Wonder Gold Salute Rock Kingdom 1:35.0
2008 Alamosa Rockwood Pillar of Hercules 1:36.9
2007 Divine Madonna Niconero Wonderful World 1.37.3
2006 Red Dazzler Rewaaya Niconero 1.37.5
2005 Barely A Moment Super Kid Calveen 1.37.9
2004 Regal Roller Osca Warrior Infinite Grace 1.37.4
2003 Roman Arch Fields Of Omagh Umrum 1.36.0
2002 Shot Of Thunder Umrum Pernod 1.36.1
2001 Show A Heart La Zagaletta Shot Of Thunder 1.35.8
2000 Umrum Go Flash Go Crawl 1.36.4
1999 Umrum Nina Haraka Go Flash Go 1.36.0
1998 Marble Halls Rustic Dream Umrum 1.38.2
1997 Penghulu Catalan Opening Ravarda 1.35.2
1996 Poetic King Scenic Royale Shame 1.35.8
1995 Sober Suit Seascay Danarani 1.35.2
1994 Oppressor Poetic King Spring Theme 1.35.2
1993 Golden Sword Never Undercharge Azzurro 1.35.8
1992 Ready To Explode Excited Angel Prince Salleri 1.43.7
1991 Comrade Livistona Lane Black Sun 1.36.1
1990 Ricochet Rosie Comrade Cool Credit 1:37.2
1989 Cole Diesel Glenview Planet Ruler 1:36.0
1988 Planet Ruler Hazy Pond Our Westminster 1:35.3