Todman Slipper Trial

Todman Slipper Trial

Todman Slipper Trial

Date: Saturday 7th March 2014
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Ghibellines

The Todman Slipper Trial is a Group 2 1200m race held every year in March for two-year-old colts & geldings at The Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is worth $300, 000 in prize money and is run under set weight conditions. The 2013 race was taken by Criterion but Fast ā€˜nā€™ Rocking and Havana came close in second and third respectively.

The Todman Slipper Trail features along the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Classic and Gr1 Ranvet Stakes. The champion in the Todman Slipper Stakes is exempted from ballot for the big money Golden Slipper Stakes. The race is often used as a gear-up event to the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes a fortnight later on the very same course and distance. The last two-year-old to win The Todman Slipper Trial and the Golden Slipper Stakes double was outstanding mare Pierro back in 2012.

In its proud history, the Todman Slipper Trial has attracted a number of quality 2yos. The most ideal lead up race for the Todman Slipper Trial is the Gr2 Skyline Stakes which is held a week earlier at Randwick. The Gr2 Pago Pago Stakes held a week later at the Rosehill Racecourse is a good progression and gifted 2yo can also run in the Golden Slipper. Phelan Ready came 2nd in the Todman Slipper Trial back in 2009 only to later claim the Golden Slipper Stakes.

Other outstanding horses to grace the Todman Slipper Stakes include Gai Waterhouse Pierro in 2012. After taking the Breeders Classic on his debut, the horse triumphed in the Todman Slipper Trial before successfully claiming The Golden Slipper and Gr1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes in the same year. The Todman Slipper Trail is always an exciting prospect for horse racing enthusiasts and over the last few years, the event has produced great competition on the course.

Todman Slipper Trial recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Ghibellines Unencumbered Cornrow 1:10.6
2013 Criterion Fast ‘n’ Rocking Havana 1:10.7
2012 Pierro Epaulette Shelford 1:12.1
2011 Smart Missile Sepoy Foxwedge 1:09.9
2010 Masquerader Decision Time Carved In Stone 1:11.4
2009 Real Saga Phelan Ready Purdey 1:11.5
2008 Krupt Related Typhoon Fury 1:10.6
2007 Meurice Zizou Shaft 1:11.1
2006 Diego Garcia Just Mambo My Middi 1:11.6
2005 Written Tycoon Domesday Flying Pegasus 1:12.0
2004 Charge Forward Dane Shadow Samboy 1:10.3
2003 Exceed And Excel Untouchable Niello 1:10.6
2002 Snowland Yell Takas 1:10.7
2001 Royal Courtship Viscount Mistegic 1:09.9
2000 Great Crusader Lord Dane Phoenix Park 1:10.0
1999 Align Majestically Bluegrit 1:10.3
1998 Laurie’s Lottery Alf Iglesia 1:09.7
1997 General Nediym Special Dane Dance Beat 1:09.7
1996 Flavour Magic Of Sydney Batavian 1:11.1
1995 Octagonal Our Maizcay Tuscany Flyer 1:09.4
1994 Pauillac Montana Sands Danzero 1:12.2
1993 Justice Prevails Keltrice Sparkling Bletch 1:09.3
1992 Clan O’sullivan Vertingly Le Masque 1:11.1
1991 Tierce Jim’s Bet Delphinus 1:10.1
1990 Auranch Pagan Jest The Austrian 1:11.2
1989 Mercury Stylish Century Straussbrook 1:12.7
1988 Full And By Astrologist Molokai Prince 1:12.3