TJ Smith Stakes

TJ Smith Stakes.jpg

TJ Smith Stakes

Date: Saturday 4th April 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,500,000
2014 Winner: Lankan Rupee

The TJ Smith Stakes is one of the big money events at the Sydney Autumn Racing carnival. The group 1 race worth $2.5 million in prize money is held annually in April at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. The weight-for-age race is run over a distance of 1200M and is today one of the most competitive races in the Australian Horse racing calendar. The TJ Smith Stakes last year was won by the Black Caviar. Epaulette and Bel Sprinter also managed a podium finish in second and third respectively.

The introduction of championship races at the 2014 Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival will see the TJ Smith Stakes take center stage on the first day alongside some of the major events. The race will feature alongside the group 1 Doncaster Handicap, the group 2 chairman’s Handicap and group 3 races such as the ATC Carbine Club stakes, The Adrian Knox Stakes and the Kindergarten Stakes. The TJ Smith Stakes is among the premier sprinting races in the Sydney Autumn.

In its recent history, the race has featured some of the best Australian sprinters. The event is named after Tommy Smith, Legendary Horse trainer in Sydney and Australia at large. Typical lead up races for the TJ Smith Stakes include the Canterbury Stakes and the Gorge Ryder Stakes. In the last few years, a number of classy mares have triumphed in the race. Some of the most exciting horses include the Black Caviar that won the race in 2013 and 2011.

The Takeover Target in 2009 and The Apache Cat 2008 are also classy mares that have won the TJ Smith Stakes. The TJ Smith Stakes is a perfect lead up race for the All Aged Stakes. In recent years not many mares have managed to claim both the TJ Smith Stakes and the All Aged Stakes but in 2005 ShameKha did it. Outstanding mare Bentley Biscuit also followed on this success in 2007. The TJ Smith Stakes is an exciting race and is set to feature among some of the major highlights in the 2014 Sydney Autumn Carnival.

TJ Smith Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Lankan Rupee Rebel Dane Buffering 1:12.1
2013 Black Caviar Epaulette Bel Sprinter 1:09.6
2012 Master Of Design Rain Affair Hallowell Belle 1:08.8
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Triple Honour 1:08.7
2010 Melito Hot Danish Mic Mac 1:09.2
2009 Takeover Target Northern Meteor Apache Cat 1:09.0
2008 Apache Cat Reigning To Win Takeover Target 1:11.8
2007 Bentley Biscuit Black Ink Virage De Fortune 1:10.6
2006 Red Oog Glamour Puss Snitzel 1:09.8
2005 Shamekha Fastnet Rock Only Words 1:12.1
2004 Dilly Dally Legally Bay Mistegic 1:09.9
2003 Spinning Hill Yell Bel Esprit 1:10.7
2002 Phoenix Park Fair Embrace Spinning Hill 1:10.3
2001 Century Kid Spinning Hill Falvelon 1:09.8
2000 Shy Hero Easy Rocking High Rolling 1:39.3
1999 Ab Initio Padstow Life Of Riley 1:10.7
1998 La Baraka Masked Party Coogee Walk 1:11.6
1997 Mahogany Ruffles Clang 1:09.1