Thousand Guineas Prelude

Caulfield Guineas Prelude

Thousand Guineas Prelude

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $2,000,000
2014 Winner: Afleet Esprit

The Thousand Guineas Prelude is a high energy 1400M Group 2 Sprint race that is held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival- one of Australia’s biggest Horse racing event. The race is held at the iconic Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria and is today worth up to $175,000 in prize money. The Thousand Guineas Prelude is not one of the elite horse races in the Melbourne Spring yet in recent years the event has not only managed to assemble talented sprinters but also it tends to attract a sizable crowd.

The 2013 edition of the race was gladly taken by Gregers after the horse broke away from the chasing pack in the final meters to score an easy victory. Coming through in second and third respectively was Marianne and Politeness. The Thousand Guineas Prelude was upgraded to a Group 2 race for the 2013-14 season and is going to share the same date and the same stage with the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Thousand Guineas Prelude is exclusive for fillies only and is often run under set weights.

The event is seen as the best build up race for the big money Group 1 Thousand Guineas. Commanding Jewel was on hand in 2102 to take home the Thousand Guineas Prelude and the Thousand Guineas double victory with Irish Lights also replicating this success in 2009. In most cases, winners or top performers in the Thousand Guineas Prelude will often look to do well in the Thousand Guineas but most will also take on other fillies only races in the Carnival.

A number of great sprinters have emerged from the race. Se Sauver for example finished sixth in the Thousand Guineas Prelude but did exceptionally well to take home the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes. Mosheen though did a little better and after running third in the Thousand Guineas Prelude in 2011, the horse would later win the Group 1 Crown Oaks, the Edward Manifold Stakes and a second placed finish in the Thousand Guineas. The Thousand Guineas Prelude is a great race for raw and emerging talent and should be an ideal pick for horse racing fans this year.

Thousand Guineas Prelude recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Afleet Esprit Amicus Go Indy Go 1:24.5
2013 Gregers Marianne Politeness 1:29.5
2012 Kelinni Commanding Jewel Molto Bene 1:24.9
2011 Bliss Street Hallowell Belle Mosheen 1:24.4
2010 Divorces Sistine Angel Panipique 1:24.2
2009 Irish Lights Set For Fame Mont Fleuri 1:26.1
2008 Ortensia Romneya Sugar Babe 1:26.0
2007 Gabbidon Jestatune Sleek Chassis 1:23.9
2006 Miss Finland Anamato My Only Hope 1:24.3
2005 Doubting Pinezero Isanami 1:27.4
2004 Hollow Bullet Ballet Society Astradame 1:24.3
2003 Hinting Ashenti Portland Damask 1:22.9
2002 La Bella Dame Toast Of The Coast Lashed 1:24.2
2001 Haste Ye Back Malagra Miss Special Grange 1:25.0
2000 So Gorgeous Ponton Flyer All Time High 1:22.9
1999 Miss Pennymoney My Sienna One Under 1:22.5
1998 Danelagh Visual Displays Oaks Dream 1:23.9
1997 Cornwall Queen Kensington Palace Rose Of Danehill 1:23.7
1996 Derobe Fairway Lass Simply Believe 1:25.6
1995 Rubidium Arctic Scent Seika 1:23.8
1994 Majestic Dawn Captiva Dasyura 1:24.9
1993 Brompton Cross Motown Blue Fine Recipe 1:24.7
1992 Azzurro Forget Playing Dhokeep 1:27.8
1991 Chador Latin Halo Dancefloor Doll 1:29.3
1990 Century Pike Tassuti Holiday Lover 1:26.1
1989 Pleasure Bandit Snow Apple Pure Talent 1:39.4
1988 Imposing Bloom Goodbye Tristram Kingdom Poacher 1:38.6