Thousand Guineas

Blazer Stakes

Thousand Guineas

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies Open – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Amicus

The Thousand Guineas is a 1600M Sprint race exclusive for three year old fillies only. The event is held each year at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne and is run under set weight conditions. The Thousand Guineas is today worth up to $500,000 in prize money and is regarded as the premier Melbourne spring carnival race for three year old fillies. The event was held in midweek since 1988 but was moved to Saturday last year to coincide with the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas.

The Thousand Guineas has a proud history of producing remarkable fillies over sprint distances. The 2013 race was exciting and enthralling to say the least with Guelph putting up a strong performance to bag the title. May’s Dream was on hand to take second with Gregers having to settle for third. Three year old fillies that win the Thousand Guineas can also bag a bonus of $250,000 if indeed they can move on and take the Caulfield Classic a week later. The race is the biggest for three year old fillies and as such it always assembles the best of the best from across the country.

The ideal progression races for the Thousand Guineas include the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes and the Group 1 Crown Oaks. The Thousand Guineas however is always a build up for the Caulfield Classic and considering that the Classic is now worth up to $750,000 in prize money, a lot of three year olds will for sure look forward to progress in this race. The Edward Manifold Stakes is the perfect lead up for the Thousand Guineas and Gallica was the last filly to win the Thousand Guineas and Edward Manifold Stakes double back in 2008.

Miss Finland in 2006 was on hand to take home the Thousand Guineas and the Crown Oaks in the same year with Special Harmony and Magic Miss also completing the same feat in 2003 and 2001 respectively. In 2011, Atlantic Jewel won the race on course towards victory in the Wakeful Stakes. The Thousand Guineas is always rich in talent and even in 2014 the event is expected to bring to light some of Australia’s most talented three year old fillies.

Thousand Guineas recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Amicus Traveston Girl Sabatini 1:36.4
2013 Guelph May’s Dream Gregers 1:37.7
2012 Commanding Jewel Dear Demi Zydeco 1:37.1
2011 Atlantic Jewel Mosheen Sharnee Rose 1:35.8
2010 Yosei Heartsareforlove Brazilian Pulse 1.39:8
2009 Irish Lights Melito Faint Perfume 1:38.8
2008 Gallica Cats Whisker Glowlamp 1:38.6
2007 Serious Speed Extension of Time Antarctic Miss 1:36.3
2006 Miss Finland Permaiscuous Cheeky Choice 1:37.2
2005 Mnemosyne Rewaaya Serenade Rose 1:36.3
2004 Alinghi Hollow Bullet Ballet Society 1:37.1
2003 Special Harmony Hinting Spurcent 1:36.4
2002 Macedon Lady La Bella Dama Fuji Dancer 1:36.4
2001 Magical Miss Ha Ha Li Lo Lill 1:37.0
2000 All Time High Ponton Flyer Tanith 1:36.3
1999 Shizu Danglissa Beat The Fade 1:39.4
1998 Inaflury Danelagh St. Clemens Belle 1:38.3
1997 Lady Of The Pines Rose Of Danehill Regal Sashay 1:35.9
1996 Dashing Eagle Derobe Zeya 1:38.0
1995 Shame Saleous Not On Friday 1:36.4
1994 Northwood Plume Danarani Captiva 1:36.7
1993 Arborea Kapchat Rose Reward 1:35.6
1992 Azzurro Love Comes To Town Burst 1:37.4
1991 Richfield Lady Rouquin Electrique 1:38.0
1990 Whisked Triscay Lycra 1:38.3
1989 Tristanagh Ochiltree Gamine 1:36.0
1988 Riverina Charm Research Boardwalk Angel 1:37.2