Thoroughbred Club Stakes

Northwood Plume Stakes

Thoroughbred Club Stakes

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Earthquake

The Thoroughbred Club Stakes is a pulsating sprint race run under set weights over a sprint distance of 1200M. The Group 3 race is held yearly in September at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. In its proud history, the Thoroughbred Club Stakes has been a great platform for emerging sprint super stars with its popularity growing remarkably over the last few years. The Thoroughbred Club Stakes is today worth up to $ 125,000 in prize money and Miss Longstocking was the proud winner of last year’s race.

Coming through in second and third respectively was Anatina and Bulbula in what was a hotly contested race. The Thoroughbred Club Stakes will share the same day and the same stage with a number of high profile races in this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Some notable events to look watch out for include Group 1 races The Caulfield Stakes, Toorak Handicap and the Caulfield Guineas.

The event is exclusive to three year old fillies only and is regarded by many horse trainers and jockeys as a remarkable spring board for fillies keen on bigger successes in other major sprint races. The most ideal lead up races for the event includes the Group 1 AJ Mori Stakes or actually the Group 2 Champagne Stakes. In most cases, the race assembles above average horses from local areas. A number of high profile horses have emerged from the race though. Platelet for example was on hand to win the 2011 edition of the Thoroughbred Club Stakes on course towards a well earned victory in the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes.

In 2009, the outstanding Headway came from a second placed finish in this race on course towards victory in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes. The thrill and excitement that has been associated with the Thoroughbred Club Stakes is set to continue in the years to come and will be a great pick for horse racing fans in this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Thoroughbred Club Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Earthquake Tawteen More Radiant 1:09.4
2013 Missy Longstocking Anatina Bulbula 1:11.1
2012 Kelinni Cavalry Rose Saturn Rock 1:10.0
2011 Platelet The Fairy’s Kiss Hollyweird 1:10.2
2010 Solar Charged Jesse’s Girl Dance Of The Ocean 1:09.1
2009 Avenue Headway Kanzan 1:09.7
2008 Damselfly Impressive Eagle Okaylah 1:11.7
2007 Gamble Me Vivacious Spirit Belcentra 1:10.0
2006 Splashing Out Corton Charlemagne Flame Of Sydney 1:10.6
2005 Queen Of The Hill Jadescent Readyforcatherine 1:11.1
2004 Emlozza Miss Mooney Mooney Tahni Girl 1:10.9
2003 Crown Princess Harley Ma Beautiful Gem 1:10.0
2002 Innovation Girl Sensational Spot Toast Of The Coast 1:09.5
2001 Patterns Hello Boys Swing A Deal 1:11.1
2000 Arrabeea Queen Belle Ball 1:11.4
1999 Camargue La Zoffany Kena 1:24.0
1998 Speedy Kids Coed Visual Displays 1:25.4
1997 Cornwall Queen Snapshots Pinpante 1:24.0
1996 Flaming Heart I Love To Dance Gamila 1:24.9
1995 Vigil Tonicity Castlereagh Run 1:23.7
1994 Verocative Bionic Bess Poetique 1:23.9
1993 Cairncross Lots Of Smiles Tristera 1:24.2
1992 Googs Dream Star Goose Rubique 1:29.0
1991 Cushion Tilgarza Miss Lusty Habit 1:24.4
1990 Mammy Zilezal All Mine 1:25.2
1989 Lady Of Perfection Sweet Ripa Dalmator 1:24.6
1988 Boardwalk Angel Volterra Super Unicorn 1:24.0