The Lexus Stakes

Carbine Club Stakes

The Lexus Stakes

Date: Saturday 31st October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Signoff

The Lexus Stakes is a competitive long distance race run during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival every year at the iconic Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria, South East Australia. The Lexus Stakes is one of the longest Group 3 races of the Melbourne Spring and is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money. The race has a proud history and in recent years it has remained absolutely competitive and equally enthralling. Last year, the Lexus Stakes title was won by the outstanding Ruscello after the horse produced a resilient and energetic run from the start to the end.

Let’s Make A Deal took second place with Araldo settling for third. Until 2009, the Lexus Stakes was known as the SAAB Quality. However since then the event has remained as the Lexus Stakes and is today run over 2500M under handicap conditions. In this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the race will feature on the same day as the Group 1 McKinnon Stakes, the AAMI Victoria Derby, The Myer Classic and the exciting Coolmore Stud Stakes.
The Lexus Stakes is a great build up for horses looking to contest the 3200M Melbourne Cup. In recent years, the event has largely been won by an in-from or high profile long distance runner and we rarely see surprise winners. All the same, the Lexus Stakes has never been short of exciting talent and there are a number of great horses who have emerged from this event.

Maluckyday came from a hard earned victory in the Lexus Stakes to finish second in the Melbourne Cup. However in 2009, Shocking did well to win the Melbourne Cup just a few weeks after taking home the Lexus Stakes. Brew also replicated the same success back in 2009. Horses that perform well in the Lexus Stakes seem to do the same in the Melbourne Cup. The 2014 edition of the race will not only be exciting and thrilling but will also be a great stage for future Melbourne Cup champions to test their abilities over long distances.

The Lexus Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Signoff Big Memory La Amistad 2:37.8
2013 Ruscello Let’s Make A Deal Araldo 2:39.8
2012 Kelinni Dare To Dream Exceptionally 2:37.6
2011 Niwot Macedonian Anudjawun 2:37.5
2010 Maluckyday Linton Once Were Wild 2:35.1
2009 Shocking Hume Irazu 2:38.3
2008 Moatise Light Vision Cape Cover 2:37.7
2007 Sculptor The Fuzz Desert Master 2:35.4
2006 Maybe Better Irazu Vanquished 2:35.8
2005 Strasbourg Bush Honey Mr Celebrity 2:40.3
2004 Don Raphael Catchmeifyoucan Winning Belle 2:36.6
2003 Big Pat Fawaz Dance On Wood 2:39.4
2002 Requiem Miss Meliss Piachay 2:35.3
2001 Maythehorsebewithu Spirit Of Westbury Touch The Groom 2:35.8
2000 Brew Mr Nelson Yammer 2:37.1
1999 The Warrior Rose O War Seasquill 2:35.2
1998 Star Binder Second Coming Prince Iluka 2:34.6
1997 Backslapper Grandmaster Buzzoff 2:39.0
1996 Few Are Chosen Centico My Kiwi Gold 2:35.6
1995 Coachwood Dupain Sir Kingi 2:34.8
1994 Pindi Starstruck Coachwood 2:35.7
1993 Tennessee Jack Maraakiz Notwithstanding 2:34.0
1992 Big Barron Val D Arno Sir Winston 2:38.4
1991 Rasheek Dr Grace Alhabel 2:33.4
1990 Mount Olympus Kingston Rule La Tristia 2:33.6
1989 Coshking Gopak Sea Legend 2:33.3
1988 Copatonic Tawrrific Centose 2:35.0