Summer Cup

Summer Cup

Summer Cup

Date: Friday 26th December 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: I’m Imposing

The Summer Cup is the final race of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival that takes place on Boxing Day at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales. The event is a Group 3 Race valued at up to $125,000 in prize money. The Summer Cup is arguably the most competitive long distance race and always provides a great show to close down the Sydney Spring in style. The 2013 edition of this 2000M race was won by I’m Imposing.

The horse capped a modest performance in the carnival with a great show in the final race to beat Travolta and Destiny’s Kiss to second and third respectively. Together with the Group 2 Villiers Stakes, the Summer Cup is one of the two biggest races that feature on December every year. In recent years, the race has remained a major stayer’s event. A lot of horse trainers and jockeys look at the Summer Cup as the perfect stage to build on previous performances during the year and as such, the event always assembles a great field of talented locals.

The Villiers Stakes is the best lead up race for the Summer Cup and in fact, the race often lines up horses that had competed in the Villiers Stakes. Nonetheless, the event has always produced great long distance runners and notably, Aqua D’Amore won the Summer Cup and the Villiers Stakes double back in 2005. Since then no horse has managed to replicate this success.

Although traditionally the Summer Cup is run over 2400M, the distance was reduced to 2000M for the 2013-14 season and it is expected to remain that way in some years to come. Notable horses to win the race include Jamberoo in 2006, Solid Billing back in 2009 and Ready To Lift in 2008. The Summer Cup is a great race to end Sydney’s racing year and it has always attracted a full house at the Randwick Racecourse.

Summer Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 I’m Imposing Midsummer Sun Casino Dancer 2:35.1
2013 I’m Imposing Travolta Destiny’s Kiss 2:04.8
2012 Le Roi Brightest Praecido 2:35.1
2011 Yulalona Nextanix Count Encosta 2:30.1
2010 Spechenka Strike One Let Them Have It 2:26.3
2009 Solid Billing Zazabeau Rockwood 2:30.6
2008 Ready To Lift Bellagio Wynn Zazabeau 2:31.8
2007 Race not run
2006 Jamberoo Game On Taken At The Flood 2.32.9
2005 Aqua D’Amore County Tyrone Beat The Tide 2.28.1
2004 This Manshood Vereza New York Style 2.27.8
2003 Stadium Ocho Stoway 2.30.1
2002 Stoway Ego Fast Barawin 2.33.2
2001 Majestically Zareyev Power of Pegasus 2.29.3
2000 Lanolin Vitrinite Consolidator 2.27.4
1999 Zanetta Pasta Express Luther 2.33.2
1998 Dance Til Dawn Pasta Express Bombast 2.29.0
1997 Linesman Jacanarchie Stony Bay 2.31.0
1996 Century Boy Mr. Neslo Seto Bridge 2.30.4
1995 Catalan Prince Praise Indeed Night After 2.29.3
1994 Spiritual Star El Castano Tusk Hunter 2.31.0
1993 Striking Gold Double Take Demerit 2.27.0
1992 Mr. Eurostar Anythings Possible Swiss Cotton 2.29.0
1991 Cross Swords Local Knowledge Initial Approach 2.29.0
1990 Magnolia Hall Copatonic Courtalista 2.30.0
1989 Lord Hybrow Palace Revolt Miss Amazer 2.28.0
1988 Super Impose Moniuszko Brentano 2.28.0