Star Kingdom Stakes

Star Kingdom Stakes

Star Kingdom Stakes

Date: Saturday 28th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Flamberge

The Star Kingdom Stakes is an exciting open handicap race that features on the Sydney Autumn every year. The Race takes center stage at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney New south Wales and is worth $125,000 in prize money. The Star Kingdom Stakes is a perfect sprint event and its 1200M distance provides a great opportunity for stronger and talented horses to showcase their abilities in Sprint races.

The 2013 edition of this race was among the most thrilling ones in its rich history and in the end, Hot Snitzel produced a strong performance to win the title ahead of Smokin’ Joey and See The World in second and third respectively. The Star Kingdom Stakes changed its name from the Sebring Stakes some years back and since then, the event has remained a major Group 3 race in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The race also features on the same day as the big money Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and The BMW at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse. For the better part of the last decade, the Star Kingdom Stakes has assembled strong and formidable sprinters from across the country. The most ideal lead up race for the event is the Group 2 Challenge Stakes.

The Star Kingdom Stakes has also been a good springboard to propel gifted horses towards elite status. Master of Design is one of the notable horses to feature in Star Kingdom Stakes and after finishing second in 2012, the horse produced a strong show to win the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes later in the Sydney Autumn. Other horses to also claim the Star Kingdom Stakes title include The Double Alliance who took consecutive victories in 2010 and 2011 and Zaratone back in 2012.

Star Kingdom Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Flamberge Hot Snitzel Bennetta 1:11.7
2013 Hot Snitzel Smokin’ Joey See The World 1:10.7
2012 Zaratone Winter King Master Of Design 1:03.0
2011 Swift Alliance News Alert Cardinal Virtue 1:03.4
2010 Swift Alliance Welkom Gold Typhoon Zed 1:04.2
2009 The Jackal Black Prince Kiloton 1:03.8
2008 Hoystar Strong Choice Master Magic 1:09.0
2007 Posadas Century Serb New Edge 1:05.0
2006 Mustard Shannon Bank Denmarket 1:04.4
2005 Red Oog Presently Damigos 1:04.2
2004 Taikun Bradshaw Naden 1:03.0
2003 Bradshaw Into The Night Pompeii 1:02.8
2002 Bradshaw Canny Fly Pembleton 1:03.9
2001 Camena Steel City Cosset 1:02.7
2000 King Of Acapulco Bradshaw Stanzaic 1:04.0
1999 Return To Go Catalan Opening Just Like Crystal 1:03.6
1998 Hockney Hot As Hell Regal Curator 1:03.0
1997 Citi Success Montana Sands Another Victor 1:03.3
1996 Moss Rocket Identikit Batwing 1:03.9
1995 Legal Agent Vibrant Delight Marcede 1:03.1
1994 Jetball Clan O’sullivan Welsh Miner 1:05.1
1993 Friend’s Venture Sublimate Classic Magic 1:03.1
1992 Friend’s Venture Noble Lancer Final Card 1:04.0
1991 Kessem The Bullfighter Sanction 1:03.0
1990 Investor West Dancer Boasting 1:04.7
1989 Magic Gleam Ima Carpenter Lygon Arms 1:05.6
1988 Lunch On Sunday Nova Edition Rendoo 1:04.6