Stan Fox Stakes

Stan Fox Stakes

Stan Fox Stakes

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Shooting To Win

The Stan Fox Stakes is one of the highly rated Group 2 race in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The event is exclusive to three year old horses only and takes center stage at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales every year in September. Last year, the Stan Fox Stakes show cased some of the most talented Middle distance sprinters in Australia and gifted horse EuroZone carried the day with a strong performance to win the race.

Criterion managed a second place finish despite an equally strong performance with Aussies Love Sport coming closely in third. The Stan Fox Stakes is run under set weights over a distance of 1500M and the prize money available here is now up to $ 250,000. The race is part of a number of great races that feature on Randwick’s three days in the Spring Carnival. The event is sandwiched between the Group 1 George Main Stakes and The Epsom Stakes. In its cherished history, the Stan Fox Stakes has consistently produced a number of high quality horses over the years.

Some of the notable winners in the event include Octagonal back in 1995, Denman in 2009 and Lonhro in 2001. The event is by far the ideal race for three year olds looking to build up on their performances on the $1 million Golden Rose or The Group 3 Spring Stakes. Horses that do exceptionally well in the Stan Fox Stakes can also take part on the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes that comes later in the Spring Carnival.

In recent years though, no horse has ever won the Stan Fox Stakes and the Golden Rose double. EuroZone last year was the closest to the double after running sixth in the Golden Rose on course towards victory in the Stan Fox Stakes. All the same, the race is always full of surprises and most importantly quality and exciting horse racing.

Stan Fox Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Shooting To Win Scissor Kick Valentia 1:29.1
2013 Eurozone Criterion Aussies Love Sport 1:30.1
2012 Kabayan Albrecht Divine Moon 1:31.6
2011 Manawanui Roma Giaconda Cocky Raider 1:21.4
2010 Decision Time Top Drop Halekulani 1:23.1
2009 Denman Run For Naara More Than Great 1:23.8
2008 Dreamscape Whitefriars Judge Me Not 1:22.4
2007 Race not run
2006 Court Command Antidotes Cinque 1:22.1
2005 Paratroopers Primus Testafiable 1:22.3
2004 Wager Spirit of Tara Swick 1:22.5
2003 Ambulance Classy Dane Hasna 1:22.9
2002 Rare Insight Magic Marvo Choisir 1:24.0
2001 Lonhro Magic Albert Stylish Lass 1:24.0
2000 Dynamic Love Sale Of Century Ateates 1:21.7
1999 Pins Hire Easy Rocking 1:22.5
1998 Kenwood Melody Laurie’s Lottery Mr. Innocent 1:22.9
1997 General Nediym Pleasure Giver Trader Vic 1:23.5
1996 West Point Intergaze Monet’s Cove 1:22.7
1995 Octagonal Encores Ravarda 1:23.4
1994 Marwina Mamzelle Pedrille Dapper Spirit 1:22.5
1993 Campaign Warrior Dancing Dynamite Pimpala Son 1:26.0
1992 Ghost Story Flitter Atlantic Brave 1:22.3
1991 Greig Chortle Delphinus 1:21.9
1990 Sir Patrick Integra With Me 1:24.1
1989 Show County Pacific Union Shaftesbury Avenue 1:22.1
1988 From The Planet Mint Machine Temple Front 1:22.3