Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Caulfield Guineas Prelude

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2014 Winner: Trust In A Gust

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a quality open handicap Group 1 race run over a sprint distance of 1400M. The event has a purse of $350,000 in prize money and is held annually at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is generally a great race for quality sprinters and in recent years, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has managed to showcase some of the best sprinters from Victoria and other parts of Australia.

In the 2013 edition of the race, Rebel Dane put up a breathtaking show to take home the title with Fontelina and Solzhenitsyn both having to settle for second and third respectively. A number of great sprinters have managed to win the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in recent years. Notable names include Exceed and Excel back in 2003, Orange County in 2008 and the Outstanding Regal Roller back in 2004.

Horses that perform relatively well in the race can consider taking on other open handicap races run over sprint distances not exceeding 1600M. The event is a great guide and build up for the Group 1 Toorak Handicap run at Caulfield over 1600M. the Bobby Lewis Quality is a great lead up race for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and last year, Rebel Dane came from a Fourth Placed finish in the Bobby Lewis Quality to score an easy win in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Solzhenitsyn came close to a Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and Toorak Handicap Double after finishing third in the former on course towards an easy win in the latter. In 2006, All American finished sixth in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes but did exemplary well to claim the Emirates Stakes. Such is the quality and talent showcased in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and in fact, the race in recent years has remained a reliable guide and build-up to other mile races in the Melbourne Spring Carnival. The event is definitely one of the most anticipated Group 1 races in the 2014 carnival.

Manhattan Rain did well to finish a respectable second in the WS Cox Stakes after running third in the 2009 edition of the Caulfield Guineas Prelude. The future is definitely bright for the Caulfield Guineas Prelude and based on the quality racing the event has been showcasing year after year, there is no doubt the Caulfield Guineas Prelude will be a major must see for horse racing fans across the country.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Trust In A Gust Dissident Bull Point 1:23.0
2013 Rebel Dane Fontelina Solzhenitsyn 1:23.8
2012 Moment Of Change We’re Gonna Rock Solzhenitsyn 1:22.1
2011 Toorak Toff Pinnacles Master Of Design 1:21.9
2010 Response No Evidence Needed Woorim 1:22.2
2009 Turffontein Stickpin Raffaello 1:25.3
2008 Orange County Bon Hoffa Turffontein 1:24.3
2007 Bon Hoffa Niconero Wonderful World 1:22.5
2006 Rewaaya Miss Andretti Undue 1.23.4
2005 Barely A Moment Super Kid Sky Cuddle 1.25.7
2004 Regal Roller Our Egyptian Raine Alinghi 1.24.2
2003 Exceed & Excel Reactive Titanic Jack 1.21.2
2002 Pernod Bel Esprit Royal Code 1.22.6
2001 Mr Murphy Fubu Umrum 1.23.5
2000 Testa Rossa Camarena Porto Roca 1.21.9
1999 Testa Rossa Nina Haraka Redoutes Choice 1.22.1
1998 Lord Luskin Theatre Haltemann 1.23.3
1997 Cut Up Rough Tarnpir Lane Delsole 1.22.9
1996 Encosta De Lago Scenic Royale Lochrae 1.24.2
1995 Our Maizcay Cut Up Rough You Remember 1.22.3
1994 Poetic King Lets Cut Loose Subastral 1.23.2
1993 Black Rouge Lets Hurry Primacy 1.23.3
1992 Mannerism Black Rouge Vows 1.26.2
1991 St Jude Our Dawn Star Cole Diesel 1.27.4
1990 Submariner Plush Embassy Crimson Medal 1.23.6
1989 Potrero Glenview Dark Beau 1.23.6
1988 Rancho Ruler My Artic Wolf Our Westminster 1.24.0