Silver Slipper Stakes

Silver Slipper Stakes.jpg

Silver Slipper Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st February 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 2yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Mossfun

The Silver Slipper Stakes is an annual Sydney Autumn race that is held every February or March at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run under set weight conditions over a distance of 1100M. The Silver Slipper Stakes is worth $250,000 in prize money and is the first race in the Sydney Autumn Carnival schedule for female and male 2year old Horses.

Mossfun took the Silver Slipper Stakes this year with Press Report and Risen from Doubt coming in second and third respectively. The race features along the Group 2 HobartVille Stakes for three year olds only and the Mare’s only Group 2 showpiece The Millie Fox Stakes. For the last few years, the Silver Slipper Stakes has produced outstanding champions that have continued to perform exceptionally well in Australian Horse Racing.

A lot of horse trainers, owners and jockeys in Australia look at the Silver Slipper Stakes as the perfect spring board for the premier and most lucrative race for 2 year olds – The $3.5 million Golden Slipper Stakes. In addition to this, the short sprint distance is a great platform to test young horses before they can move on to other longer races such as the Group 3 Sweet Embrace Stakes and The Skyline Stakes. Since the establishment of the Silver Slipper Stakes and the Golden Slipper Stakes, no horse has managed to claim the double.

However outstanding filly Sweet Idea came so close in 2013 after winning the Silver Slipper Stakes and finishing third in the Golden Slipper Stakes. Recent Silver Slipper Stakes champions include Pierro in 2012, Melito in 2009 and Sweet Idea in 2013. The Silver Slipper Stakes is always an exciting prospect for young horses and fans alike. The event is ranked among the major highlights in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Silver Slipper Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Mossfun Press Report Risen From Doubt 1:06.2
2013 Sweet Idea Whiskey Allround Charlie Boy 1:06.3
2012 Pierro Hussousa Kyria 1:06.8
2011 Satin Shoes Elite Falls Straight Gold 1:03.4
2010 Chance Bye Ambers Waltz Zutara 1:04.2
2009 Melito Sunday Rose Onemorenomore 1:03.8
2008 Amelia’s Dream Hips Don’t Lie Glowlamp 1:02.9
2007 Shaft Husson Lightning Murtajill 1:04.0
2006 Plagiarize Boom Time Savings Five Ways 1:04.0
2005 Domesday Flying Pegasus Dr Green 1:04.0
2004 Ballybleue Dane Shadow Esther 1:04.0
2003 Hasna Polar Success Legally Bay 1:04.0
2002 Victory Vein Chuckle Air Of Grace 1:05.2
2001 Excellerator Ha Ha Donna Natalia 1:03.1
2000 French Braids Kootoomootoo King Of Danes 1:03.7
1999 Passmore Boulevard Martree 1:04.3
1998 Iglesia Marrego Star Of Hayley 1:03.6
1997 Run in Autumn
1996 Millward Captain Dash Dantelah 1:04.2
1995 Clang The Oscars Armidale 1:04.3
1994 Strategic Sir Debonaire Feathers Of Gold 1:05.2
1993 Dapper Magic Jamine Star Marwina 1:03.9
1992 Gold Brose Headstrong Fitting 1:04.0
1991 Kenfair Shoeshine Henry Rhythm 1:06.1
1990 Honey Be Quick Soclosure Zinders 1:04.2
1989 Triscay Bounce Again Nun’s Chorus 1:04.2
1988 Show County Vain Promise Paris Opera 1:04.2