Silver Shadow Stakes

Silver Shadow Stakes

Silver Shadow Stakes

Date: Saturday 22nd August 2015
Track: Warwick Farm racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Bring Me The Maid

The Silver Shadow Stakes is held annually in August at the Warwick Farm Racecourse and is one of the major Group 2 races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The event is normally exclusive to 3 year old fillies only and last year, Thump produced a strong show to win the race in spectacular fashion ahead of Sweet Idea and Montsegur who both managed second and third respectively. The Silver Shadow Stakes is contested over a sprint distance of 1200M where three year old fillies battle it out for the $175,000 up for grabs in prize money.

The male version of the Silver Shadow Stakes, the Up and Coming Stakes is held on the same day as the race on the Warwick Farm Racecourse. In recent years, the race has remained a major stage for quality racing and last year, the event was upgraded from a Group 3 race to a Group 2 event for the 2013-14 racing season.

The Silver Shadow Stakes is seen as the best start for fillies looking to compete in other major sprint races in the Sydney Spring Carnival. Fillies that do well in the race can consider running in the Group 2 Furious Stakes or the Tea Rose Stakes. The Silver Shadow Stakes has produced a number of high profile fillies and most specifically, Gold Edition Debuted in the race in 2006 and later went on to achieve remarkable success in Australian horse racing.

Samantha Miss back in 2008 and Mnemosyne in 2005 are some of the recent fillies to claim the Silver Shadow Stakes and the Furious Stake double. Streama came close in 2011 after running third in the Silver Shadow Stakes on course towards victory in the Furious Stakes. The Silver Shadow Stakes in 2014 is expected to showcase the same enthusiasm and quality racing it has in recent years. Other notable winners in this race include Nechita back in 2012 and Pane in The Glass back in 2011.

Silver Shadow Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Bring Me The Maid Memorial Clover Lane 1:12.3
2013 Thump Sweet Idea Montsegur 1:09.6
2012 Nechita Meidung Ichihara 1:09.7
2011 Pane In The Glass Florentina Streama 1:13.4
2010 Parables Solar Charged Chance Bye 1:09.9
2009 Deer Valley Melito Hurtle Myrtle 1:10.3
2008 Samantha Miss Glowlamp Love and Kisses 1:12.4
2007 Race not run
2006 Gold Edition Montmelo Heat Of The Fire 1:10.6
2005 Mnemosyne Fashions Afield Paulini 1:09.6
2004 Our Sweet Moss Wager Trezevant 1:10.7
2003 Regimental Gal Legally Bay Dorky 1:12.0
2002 Victory Vein Chantelaine Calaway Gal 1:09.9
2001 Ha Ha Hosannah Oomph 1:11.3
2000 Ateates Dynamic Love Unworldly 1:09.9
1999 Katima High Grove Forest Express 1:10.2
1998 Crimson Flight Rubicall Confer 1:15.0
1997 Adeewin Snapshots My Halo Broke 1:10.1
1996 Cashier Crying Apple Danish 1:09.9
1995 Seika Milrich Fair Diana 1:11.1
1994 Aragen Danarani Romantica 1:10.6
1993 Angst Centrefold Spread Bint Marscay 1:10.3
1992 Skating Burst Klokka 1:09.9
1991 Pipiwar Enshrine Bold Promise 1:11.5
1990 Triscay With Me Whisked 1:11.6
1989 Spirited Way Kanaloa A Little Kiss 1:10.5
1988 Startling Lass Atalantas Way Grey Fille 1:10.2