The Shorts

The Shorts

The Shorts

Date: Saturday 19th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo&up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Terravista

The Shorts is a sprint race that is held at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in September every year. The Group 2 race is exclusive for three year old horses or above and is regarded as one of the most competitive sprint races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The Shorts is run under set weights over a sprint distance of 1000M and is today worth up to $200,000 in prize money. Since its establishment, The Shorts has grown remarkably to become one of Australia’s most popular classic races.

The event has often assembled a number of high quality sprinters but in recent years it has presented a great stage for raw talent and above average horses looking to make a mark in the Spring Carnival. Last year Sessions produced one of the most remarkable Sprints in recent years to comfortably win the race ahead of Aeronautical and Spirit Of Boom both settling in second and third respectively.

The race was moved from the last day of the Spring Carnival and will feature on the same day as the Group 1 George Main Stakes in Randwick’s biggest race day. In the last few years, The Shorts has favored in form sprinters albeit there have been a number of surprise winners in different occasions.

The Group 3 Concorde Stakes is a great build up for the race and whilst no horse in recent years has ever won these two events in the same year, Sessions last year come very close after finishing second in the Concorde Stakes just weeks after winning The Shorts title. For horse racing lovers who are enthralled by sprint races, this event is an ideal pick. Other notable winners in the race over the last few years include Love Conquers All back in 2011 and Pampelonne who won the event in 2012.

The Shorts recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Terravista I’m All The Talk Famous Seamus 1:02.4
2013 Sessions Aeronautical Spirit Of Boom 1:03.2
2012 Pampelonne Satin Shoes Appearance 1:09.6
2011 Love Conquers All Albert The Fat Winter King 1:08.7
2010 Hot Danish Whitefriars Shellscrape 1:09.5
2009 Gold Trail Fritz’s Princess Sniper’s Bullet 1:04.8
2008 Fritz’s Princess Hot Danish Keen Commander 1:04.0
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Bentley Biscuit Magnus Spark Of Life 1:03.4
2005 Black Ink Mustard Fumble 1:03.4
2004 Dance the Waves Secret Land Legally Bay 1:04.6
2003 Lucky Night Fair Embrace Poetic Papal 1:04.8
2002 Empire Shags Fouardee 1:04.1
2001 Oamaru Force Pembleton Fair Embrace 1:03.5
2000 Bradshaw Guineas Upright 1:03.8
1999 Ab Initio Staging Padstow 1:04.3
1998 Mulugwa Appoint Dual Photon 1:04.0
1997 Hot As Hell Regal Centre Unison 1:02.7
1996 Madison Point Identikit Monopolize 1:03.3
1995 Moss Rocket Sword Rouslan 1:03.7
1994 Legal Agent All Our Mob The Heavyweight 1:02.7
1993 Chiliad Klokka Spanish Mix 1:07.4
1992 Classic Magic Mighty Century Wonga’s Joy 1:03.8
1991 Euclase All Archie Final Card 1:02.6
1990 Rise ‘N’ Shine All Stormy Targlish 1:04.7
1989 Rigoletto Roman Senator Alpine Flyer 1:03.1
1988 Potter McQueen Here’s The Point Pleasant Flight 1:03.7