Shannon Stakes

Shannon Stakes

Shannon Stakes

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Rock Sturdy

The Shannon Stakes is a 1500M handicap race held annually in September at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The Group 2 race is designed for three year-old and above horses only and is now worth $175,000 in prize money. In recent years, the race has been ranked among the most exciting prospects in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. Rain Drum won the event in 2013 after outclassing a field of talented runners.

Coming in second and third respectively was Centennial Park and Our Desert Warrior. Although the Shannon Stakes is not one of the big money events in Australia’s horse racing, the race has managed to attract a broad diversity of above average horses from across the country. The event is lined up on the same day along a number of exciting races including The Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes and Group 3 races The Research Stakes and The Collin Stephen Quality.

The Shannon Stakes tends to favor in form horses and rarely do we get a surprise winner. A number of quality horses have graced this race and just to mention but a few, notable mares include Armed For Action back in 1998, Al Mansour in 2000 and The Juggler in 1996. The Shannon Stakes is a perfect build up race for the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival especially for horses that are in top form.

Rangirangdoo in 2009 finished second in the Shannon Stakes on course towards an easy victory in the Group 2 Crystal Mile at the Melbourne Spring. The event is also an ideal lead up race for the Epsom Handicap and in recent years, no horse has won the two races in the same year. The Shannon Stakes is always a perfect pick for horse racing enthusiasts looking for competitive racing and is expected to fire up the Sydney Spring Carnival this year like never before.

Shannon Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Rock Sturdy Liberty’s Choice Ninth Legion 1:28.8
2013 Rain Drum Centennial Park Our Desert Warrior 1:29.3
2012 Rolling Pin Offenders Fat Al 1:31.1
2011 King Lionheart Fast Clip Lone Command 1:29.9
2010 Firebolt Centennial Park Sacred Choice 1:28.5
2009 Drumbeats Rangirangdoo Strat’s Flyer 1:30.1
2008 Musket Black Piranha Ice Chariot 1:30.5
2007 Sliding Cube Mimi Lebrock Moonboat 0.58.3
2006 Stormhill Temple Hills Newton’s Rings 1:28.4
2005 Lotteria Studebaker Swick 1:30.2
2004 Nips Whoc Irongail 1:28.3
2003 Sportsman Amex Nips 1:28.1
2002 Gordo Shot Of Thunder Evander 1:29.7
2001 On Type Century Kid Diamond Dane 1:22.4
2000 Al Mansour Chinhoyi Varicool 1:29.5
1999 Referral Lahar Lease 1:29.7
1998 Armed For Action Dodge Champagne 1:28.7
1997 Quick Flick Might And Power Here’s The Prince 1:29.5
1996 Juggler Catalan Opening Valance 1:28.9
1995 Sprint By Cheunganoff My Diamond Rouge 1:30.4
1994 Play Or Pay Star Dancer Tenor 1:28.8
1993 Soho Square Ghost Story Ausmart 1:28.7
1992 Palatin Century Reign Big Dreams 1:29.1
1991 Deposition Livistona Lane Majestic Boy 1:33.2
1990 Go Bush High Regard Dixon Street 1:30.8
1989 Cole Diesel Nanutarra Temple Front 1:29.6
1988 Never Quit Robian Steel Magnetic Island 1:30.9