Seymour Cup

Seymour Cup

Seymour Cup

Date: Sunday 18th October 2015
Track: Seymour racecourse, Seymour
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Bel Thor

The Seymour Cup is an amazing sprint race run under open handicap conditions at the Seymour Racecourse. The event is part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is run over a distance of 1600M. The race is today worth up to $150,000 in prize money and over the last few decades it has grown to become a local favorite in Victoria. The Seymour racecourse is located about 100KM from Melbourne’s city center along the Hume Highway.

Callanish was the proud winner of the 2013 edition of the Seymour Cup with Over Quota and Tribal Rock both coming through to take second and third respectively. The race is normally a stage for above average sprinters from the country side and in most cases, it is won by a quality sprinter. Some notable horses have contested this race and moved on to make it big in the highest level of Australian horse racing.

Tears I Cry for example emerged from a third place finish in the Seymour Cup on course towards a well earned victory in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes. For many horse trainers, the race is an ideal platform for emerging sprinters or horses who are returning back to from. In recent years, the Seymour Cup has been highly competitive and is always an exciting prospect for horse racing fans across Victoria.

Other notable horses to win the event include the remarkable Mandela who took home the title in 2009, Lifes A Bounty in 2006 and the Panoramic Lad who won the Seymour Cup in 2000. In the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring, the race is expected to be a major country race and will be on the list of many fans across Victoria.

Seymour Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Bel Thor Our Hand Of Faith Another Prelate 1:36.4
2013 Unpretentious Pago Rock Kuroshio 57.6
2012 Callanish Over Quota Tribal Rock 1:36.4
2011 Tiakinui Smoulder La Rocket 1:35.7
2010 Our Lukas Conquering Red Colossus 1:35.5
2009 Mandela Pillar Of Hercules Excelltastic 1:35.7
2008 Aztec Smytzer God’s Hand Dorabella 1:35.7
2007 Correct Amoondo You Sexy Boy Tears I Cry 1:37.4
2006 Thin And Crispy Hidden Strings Lifes A Bounty 1:36.1
2005 Lifes A Bounty Stamen Requisite 1:34.6
2004 Stamen Mooball Fonome 1:35.9
2003 Storm Attack Burglar Tooborack 1:36.1
2002 Dane River Brittish Buska Gunnamatta 1:34.3
2001 Elkabayo Aquiver Prince Benbara 1:34.9
2000 Panoramic Lad Gold Boom Vetyvere 1:35.7
1999 Typhoon Barney Stormy Jim Honourable Mention 1:35.9
1998 Final Teppo Party Prince Siri Nelg 1:36.9
1997 Shistaad Video Fan Reeperbahn 1:37.8
1996 Video Fan McGuane Confirmed Bachelor 1:39.2
1995 Toil Grey Alex Sockerano 1:36.7
1994 Spring Theme Strike High Sable Dreamer 1:37.7
1993 State Taj Lord Keitel Blame 1:40.3
1992 Coolong Road Mamzelle Perdu Time Of My Life 1:38.0
1991 Purple Curse Ritual Star High Waters 1:38.1
1990 Zaparri Brilliant Invasion Universal Ambition 1:33.5
1989 Cosign Mind My Boy Black Charleston 1:39.5
1988 Water Boatman Springfield Lad Kingston Lane 1:38.5