Schillaci Stakes

Schillaci Stakes

Schillaci Stakes

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Rubick

The Schillaci Stakes is a popular weight for age Group 2 race that takes center stage at the Caulfield racecourse every year in October. The event is part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is run over a Sprint distance of 1000M. The Schillaci Stakes is one of the shortest Group 2 races in the Melbourne Spring and is today worth up to $200,000 in prize money. Since its debut back in 1970, the race was run as the Chirnside Stakes until the name was changed to the Schillaci Stakes in 2000 to honor one of Australia most revered Sprinters Schillaci.

The 2013 edition of the race was full of intrigues with Unpretentious doing remarkably well to shake off a strong challenge from a number of strong competitors. Pago Rock settled for second with Kuroshio coming through to take the third place. The race will feature along a number of exciting Group 1 races including the Caulfield Stakes, the Toorak Stakes and the breathtaking Caulfield Guineas. The Schillaci Stakes has provided a great stage through which a number of outstanding sprinters have emerged in recent years.

Notable horses to win the race include Buffering back in 2012, the Black Caviar who won the race consecutively in 2010 and 2011 and Miss Andretti in 2006. The AJ Moir Stakes is always a typical lead up race for the Schillaci Stakes and horses that perform better in the event can consider taking part in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes. The Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic is also a great progression.

The last horse to take the Schillaci Stakes and the AJ Moir Stakes double was the outstanding Black Caviar who took the double in 2010 and 2011. In 2006 though, Miss Andretti did well to win the Schillaci Stakes on course towards hard fought victories in the AJ Moir Stakes and the Patinack Farm Classic. The Schillaci Stakes is always a great stage for talented sprinters and is one of the most thrilling short distance races in the Melbourne Spring.

Schillaci Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Rubick Platelet Overreach 0:56.6
2013 Unpretentious Pago Rock Kuroshio 57.6
2012 Buffering Golden Archer Stirling Grove 0:56.9
2011 Karuta Queen Sistine Angel Stirling Grove 0:56.7
2010 Black Caviar Winter King General Truce 0:56.6
2009 Lucky Secret Apache Cat Wanted 0:55.9
2008 Wilander Lucky Secret Gamble Me 0:58.0
2007 Gold Edition Royal Asscher Let Go Thommo 0:57.3
2006 Miss Andretti Green Birdie Nediyms Glow 0:57.2
2005 Segments Danerich Miss Mooney Mooney 0:57.6
2004 Patpong Alizes Regimental Gal 0:58.2
2003 Halibery Dantana Spinning Hill 0:56.7
2002 Spinning Hill Falvelon Mistegic 0:57.1
2001 Mistegic Windigo Falvelon 0:57.6
2000 Falvelon Mannington Super Elegant 0:58.0
1999 Magic Music Paint Northeast Sheila 0:56.9
1998 Show No Emotion Theatre Scandinavia 0:58.3
1997 Mahogany Spartacus Be Discreet 0:57.5
1996 Sequalo Gold Ace Sword 0:57.8
1995 Moss Rocket Chief De Beers Sequalo 0:56.1
1994 Bint Marscay Alannon Barcurra 0:56.6
1993 Green Sweeper Our Pompeii Prince Acumen 0:58.5
1992 King Marauding Mamzelle Perdu Grey Man 0:58.0
1991 Street Ruffian Redelva Sonic Express 1:00.2
1990 Street Ruffian Benbara King Dancers Choice 1:00.3
1989 Scarlet Bisque Disputed Pearl Vain Veleric 1:00.0
1988 Rancho Ruler Special Disputed Pearl 1:00.8