Sandown Stakes

Begonia Belle Stakes

Sandown Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th November 2015
Track: Sandown racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Pornichet

The Sandown Stakes is an eye-catching quality sprint race run over 1500M under handicap conditions. The event is staged every year at the Sundown Racecourse, in Melbourne Victoria. The race is actually one of the few races that come during the final stages of the Melbourne Spring racing carnival and is today worth up to $125,000 in prize money. The 2013 edition of the race however was held at the Caulfield racecourse due to maintenance works at the Sundown Racecourse.

The event was also run over 1400M and in the end it was Mahisara who gladly took home the title after a fine and breathtaking finish in the final few meters. Coming through to take second and third respectively was the outstanding Go The Knuckle while Galah had to settle in for third. All the same, the race this year will return to the Sundown Racecourse and will feature on the same day along with a number of exciting events.

Some of the major races to watch out for include the Group 2 Sundown Classic, The Group 3 Sundown Guineas and the Group 3 Eclipse Stakes. The line up provides a great prospect for horse racing fans around Melbourne. The event is regarded by many horse trainers as one of the last high quality sprint races in the Melbourne Carnival and as such it always attracts quality and able sprinters looking to end the spring on the high.

The race is always open for horses who are experienced in short distance races not exceeding a mile distance of 1600M. A number of talented and quality sprinters have won this event in recent years. Some notable names include the amazing Mahisara who took home the 2012 and the 2013 title consecutively, Titanic Jack in 2005, and Chong Tong in 2003. In this year’s Melbourne Spring, the event is expected to be even bigger and better.

Sandown Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Pornichet General Groove Spacecraft 1:29.6
2013 Mahisara Go The Knuckle Galah 1:23.5
2012 Mahisara Morant Raspberries 1:29.2
2011 Under The Eiffel Sistine Angel Orbit Express 1:32.4
2010 Larry’s Never Late Demerit Rockpecker 1:33.2
2009 Nine Tales Jungle Ruler Itsamonty 1:30.6
2008 Chasm Marching Orbit Express 1:31.8
2007 Gotta Have Heart Royal Ida Great Is Great 1:24.9
2006 Swick Anwaar Cargo Cult 1:22.0
2005 Titanic Jack Zankel Chickaloo 1:31.5
2004 Amtrak Smart And Mighty Shadowmaker 1:27.8
2003 Chong Tong Lord Volksraad Green Pick 1:23.5
2002 Salgado Mr Magoo Lord Erin 1:22.7
2001 Little Dozer Le Zagaletta Dynamic Love 1:23.2
2000 Normal Practice Ab Initio Cellar 1:21.4
1999 Buster Jones Royal Voyage Evocative 1:21.9
1998 Any Rhythm Oliver Twist Major Victory 1:25.9
1997 Cut Up Rough Hes Regal Coaltar 1:26.0
1996 Wavertree Royal Discard Nick On The Run 1:22.5
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille Taos Monsieur 1:22.8
1994 Another Victor Rouslan Blue Boss 1:21.3
1993 Monsieur Defoe Street Ruffian 1:22.0
1992 Minyama Carolingian Beppiz Boy 1:21.8
1991 Wrap Around Welcome Knight Steineck 1:23.4
1990 Procol Harum Grey Man Marwong 1:23.4
1989 Marabous Phantom Black Blaze Heavenly View 1:24.6
1988 Rendoo Jet Fighter Crush 1:23.7