San Domenico Stakes

San Domenico Stakes

San Domenico Stakes

Date: Saturday 15th August 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Nostradamus

The San Domenico Stakes is a major Group 3 race in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival that takes center stage in early August every year at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The race is a perfect sprint event run over 1100M and offers up to $125,000 in prize money. In 2013, the race showcased some of the best sprinters in Australia with Va Pensiero producing a strong run to claim the title. Cluster has in hand to take second while Windjammer had to settle for third. The race is exclusive to three-year-old horses only and tends to assemble a field of above average and talented sprinters. Over the last decade however, the San Domenico Stakes has always produced a surprise winner.

The San Domenico Stakes has been graced by some quality sprinters from across the country. Notable names include the Gold Edition in 2006 who actually won the event, Snitzerland in 2012, and Foxwedge in 2012. Horse trainers and jockeys look at the race as the best test for sprinters looking to tackle other big sprint races in the Spring Carnival. In most cases, horses that do well in the race tend to perform relatively better in other similar type races.

In 2010 for example, Obsequious won the San Domenico Stakes on course towards a second place finishing in the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes. Decision Time on the other hand finished 3rd in the 2010 San Domenico Stakes edition and later recorded a remarkable victory in the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes just a few weeks later.

However, Shellscrape is arguably the biggest performer to emerge from the San Domenico Stakes. The horse managed to win a San Domenico Stakes and Roman Consul double before finishing second in the Group 3 Up and Coming Stakes. The San Domenico Stakes is always a perfect show of great sprinters and will be one of the major events in the 2014 Sydney Spring Carnival.

San Domenico Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Nostradamus Washington Heights Law 1:03.6
2013 Va Pensiero Cluster Windjammer 1:02.8
2012 Snitzerland Driefontein All Too Hard 1:04.7
2011 Foxwedge Anise Karuta Queen 1:04.3
2010 Obsequious Solar Charged Decision Time 0:59.3
2009 Shellscrape Sniplaz Kiss Me Katy 0.58.1
2008 Duporth Whitefriars Atomic Force 1:04:2
2007 Sliding Cube Mimi Lebrock Moonboat 0.58.3
2006 Gold Edition My Middi Astounded 0.59.4
2005 Media Written Tycoon Snitzel 0.57.4
2004 Charge Forward Fastnet Rock Dance Hero 0.57.2
2003 Regimental Gal Spark of Life Dorky 0.56.9
2002 Star Of Florida Chocolate Starfish Athelnoth 0.57.7
2001 Mistegic Fair Embrace Palais 0.59.1
2000 Zariz Dymamic Love Kootoomootoo 0.57.0
1999 Testa Rossa Easy Rocking Catamarca 1:00.9
1998 Race Not Run
1997 General Nediym Sports Adeewin 0.57.7
1996 Sovereign State Clang Apple Danish 0.57.2
1995 Our Maizcay Strategic Millrich 0.57.4
1994 Lord Jim Flaming Hot Dapper Magic 0.57.9
1993 Sashed Moss Rocket Stormy Regent 0.59.3
1992 Surtee Klokka Monsieur 0.57.7
1991 Tierce Big Dreams Cloudlet 0.57.1
1990 Acecay Varikos Committal 0.59.3
1989 Show County Patronise Charles County 0.58.0
1988 Merimbula Bay Full And By Fortlin 0.59.0
1987 Omnicorp Sky Chase Golden Unicorn 0.59.2
1986 Gallery Level Pre Catelan Western Ace 0.58.7
1985 Let’s Get Physical Timothy Shankhill Lass 0.57.9
1984 Quiet Little Drink Bletchencore Princess Jocinda 0.58.3
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Yoyangamble 0.57.7
1982 Rosebrook Regal Karioi Sounds Of Morning 0.57.5
1981 Black Shoes Ideal Planet Wenona Princess 1:01.0
1980 Proud Knight John’s Hero Gay Rosalind 0.57.6