Run to the Rose

Run to the Rose

Run to the Rose

Date: Saturday 29th August 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Set Weight + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Hallowed Crown

The Run to the Rose is one of the highly rated Group 3 races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The event is an exciting sprint race that is run under predetermined weights over 1200M. The Run to the Rose is exclusive to three year old horses only and is today worth up to $125,000 in prize money. The race takes center stage at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse each year in August and in 2013, the event was taken by Va Pensiero.

The three year old produced a breathtaking run to score an easy victory here ahead of second placed Dissident with Marseille Roulette settling in third. The Run to the Rose in its history tends to attract quality sprinters and in most cases only the best and in form three year olds emerge victorious. The event is seen by a number of horse trainers as the best build up for the big money Group 1 Golden Rose which is actually the most expensive race in the Sydney Spring.

A number of three year-old horses have managed to win the Run to the Rose and the Golden Rose double. In 2009, Denman run strongly to win the Run to the Rose and the Golden Stakes a few weeks later. The same success was also replicated by Squamosa a year later while talented three year old Smart Missile came close to the double after winning the Run to the Rose on course towards a second placed finish in the Golden Rose back in 2011.

The Run to the Rose always produces great sprinters and is always a great race for horse racing lovers who like exciting and competitive sprint races. The race is expected to grow and become bigger and better in the coming years but in 2014, the event is surely among some of the most anticipated Group 3 races in the Sydney Racing Carnival.

Run To The Rose recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Hallowed Crown Kumaon Ygritte 1:12.9
2013 Va Pensiero Dissident Marseille Roulette 1:09.6
2012 Pierro Your Song Epaulette 1:09.8
2011 Smart Missile Foxwedge Helmet
2010 Squamosa Masquerader Testarhythm 1:18.2
2009 Denman More Than Great Bombay Sling 1:16.6
2008 Desuetude Maybe I Emperor Bonaparte 1:18.1
2007 El Cambio Rapid Jacko Turffontein 1:16.2
2006 Mentality He’S No Pie Eater Boncoeur 1:17.6
2005 Paratroopers Pendragon Thunderbird Hill 1:16.3
2004 Eremein Uber Econsul (Nz) 1:18.3
2003 Gilded Youth Charmview Confectioner 1:16.7