Roman Consul Stakes

Roman Consul Stakes

Roman Consul Stakes

Date: Saturday 3rd October 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Brazen Beau

The Roman Consul Stakes is an enthralling sprint race exclusive for three year olds only. The event is held in September every year at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney New South Wales. The race is run under set weights over a sprint distance of 1200M and in its proud history, the Roman Consul Stakes has produced remarkable horse racing and is one of the most anticipated group 2 races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

The event is today worth a remarkable $175,000 and in the 2013 edition of the race outstanding three year old Zoustar showcased impeccable talent to win the event. Barbed and Open Book both had to settle for second and third respectively. The Roman Consul Stakes features on the same day as a number of great races including Group 1 events The Epsom Handicap, The Metropolitan, The Flight Stakes and The Spring Champion Stakes. Over the last two or three decades, the Roman Consul Stakes has managed to attract quality horses from across the country.

The event is normally won by classy and talented three year olds and this only underpins the quality of racing showcased in the event. The Roman Consul Stakes has produced some exciting racing talent in Australia including outstanding champions such as Encounter back in 1997, Exceed and Excel back in 2003 and Maizcay in 1995.

The 2013 champion Zoustar emerged from a strong performance in the event to win the richest race in the Spring Carnival – The Group 1 Golden Rose. In 2014, the Roman Consul Stakes is expected to once again provide a remarkable stage for future champions of the Turf and will be an ideal pick for horse racing lovers looking for a great show of competition between able and classy three year olds from across the country.

Roman Consul Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Brazen Beau Nostradamus Delectation 1:09.0
2013 Zoustar Barbed Open Book 1:09.4
2012 Jolie Bay Knight Exemplar Your Song 1:09.6
2011 Foxwedge Masthead Do You Think 1:11.1
2010 Buffering Obsequious Parriwi 1:09.0
2009 Shellscrape Honest Truth Shadow Assassin 1:09.9
2008 Montana Flyer Drumbeats Silent But Deadly 1:11.6
2007 Race not held
2006 Reigning to Win Gold Edition Mute 1:10.7
2005 Denmarket Stratum De Beers 1:10.5
2004 Fastnet Rock Charge Forward Star Cat 1:09.3
2003 Exceed and Excel Hasna Ambulance 1:09.1
2002 Snowland Force Apollo Bollinger 1:10.6
2001 Stylish Lass Fair Embrace Mistegic 1:04.9
2000 Kootoomootoo Veteran Zariz 1:12.2
1999 Easy Rocking Marechal Commands 1:09.7
1998 Laurie’s Lottery Shinkansea Dracula 1:13.5
1997 Encounter Snadame Le Mans 1:11.2
1996 Anthems Armidale Clang 1:10.2
1995 Our Maizcay Octagonal Donar 1:12.0
1994 Marwina Lord Jim Status Symbol 1:10.4
1993 Jetball Stormy Regent Just Awesome 1:09.6
1992 Slight Chance Facile Klokka 1:09.5
1991 Prince Of Praise Top Comedian Shadea 1:12.2
1990 Bureaucracy With Me New Aquaintance 1:09.9
1989 Show County Ochiltree Eire 1:09.6
1988 Wonder Dancer Full And By West Dancer 1:10.6