Research Stakes

Research Stakes

Research Stakes

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Arabian Gold

The Research Stakes is one of the high profile Group 3 Sprint events in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The event is held annually in September at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney New South Wales. Run over 1200M, the Research Stakes is worth $250,000 in prize money and is one of the richest Group 3 races in the Carnival. The event is exclusive to three year-old fillies and mares only and in 2013, Sharnee Rose exceptionally produced a great sprint to claim the title ahead of second placed Red Tracer with Bennetta coming through in third.

Having been run as the Golden Pendant in recent years, the Research Stakes has maintained a consistent show of great racing in its history. The event will feature on the same day as the Stan Fox stakes which should be an ideal line up especially for horse racing enthusiasts who love sprint events. For the better part of the last few years, the Research Stakes tends to attract above average fillies most of who may have taken part in the Group 3 Sheraco Stakes.

The last mare to win the Research Stakes and the Sheraco Stakes Double was more Joyous back in 2012. Named after outstanding Australian race horse Research, the event has produced a number of great horses. Some notable mares include Hot Danish who won the event back in 2009, Spinning Hill in 2000, Dantelah in 1998 and Judged back in 2008.

2013’s champion Sharnee Rose recorded a remarkable victory in the Research Stakes on course towards a great win in the Group 3 Angst Stakes at Rosehill. The Research Stakes is one of the popular Group 3 sprint races especially because of the relatively higher prize money. The event has grown significantly over the last few decades and the 2014 edition of the race is expected to elicit the same excitement and thrill it has in its cherished history.

Research Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Arabian Gold Catkins My Sabeel 1:22.6
2013 Sharnee Rose Red Tracer Bennetta 1:23.0
2012 More Joyous Skyerush Forarainyday 1:25.3
2011 Screen Gybe Ofcourseican 1:09.9
2010 Trim Montana Flyer =2 Girl Hussler =2 1:09.8
2009 Hot Danish Madame Pedrille Beaucoup 1:10.6
2008 Judged Illuminates Nediyms Dream 1:11.0
2007 Race not held
2006 Coolroom Candidate Napa Sky Kakakakatie 1:11.1
2005 Fumble Battle Maiden One In A Million 1:09.5
2004 Besame Mucho Chatelaine Covet Thee 1:10.6
2003 Classy Dane Forum Floozie Gold Lottey 1:10.4
2002 Mica’s Pride Ancient Song Rare Insight 1:09.2
2001 La Rieuse Winona Gentle Genius 1:10.7
2000 Spinning Hill Brief Kiss Perfect Halo 1:11.1
1999 Brief Kiss Dantelah Flickering Fire 1:10.0
1998 Dantelah Snippets Lass My Halo Broke 1:09.4
1997 Unison Sweet Consort Amber 1:08.8
1996 Fiddlestick Ruffles Dane Ripper 1:09.7