Red Anchor Stakes

Red Anchor Stakes

Red Anchor Stakes

Date: Saturday 24th October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Galaxy Pegasus

The Red Anchor Stakes is an exceptional sprint race that is held annually at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run under pre-determined weight conditions over a distance of 1200M and is exclusive to three year old horses only. The Group 3 race is today worth up to $150,000 in prize money and even though the purse might not be as huge as it is the case in other big sprint races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the event in recent years has done remarkably well to assemble above average and quality sprinters from different parts of the country.

The 2013 edition of the Red Anchor Stakes was taken by Thermal Current after the outstanding three year old sprinted her to the title with a strong push in the final hundred meters. Coming through second and third was Not Listenin’ To Me and Selectify respectively.

The race will take center stage on the same day as the big money WS Cox Plate at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in what should be a great line up of exciting races. For the better part of the last decade, the Red Anchor Stakes has largely been won by an in-form or quality sprinter. The race is seen by a number of horse trainers as the best start for new and emerging three year olds to launch themselves into the top level of Australian Horse Racing.

However, the event has done well to unearth a number of high quality talents some of who have gone on to become super stars of the turf. In 2009, the outstanding Avenue won this race and later went on to win a number of races in the carnival. Other notable three year olds to win it include Sound The Alarm who took home the title in 2000, Millbank in 2009 and Hidden Warrior back in 2012.

Red Anchor Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Galaxy Pegasus Law Nicoscene 1:09.9
2013 Thermal Current Not Listenin’tome Selectify 1:11.3
2012 Hidden Warrior Haussmann Chosen Moment 1:11.2
2011 Karuta Queen Miss Stellabelle Amah Rock 1:10.6
2010 That’s Not It Happy Trails Lone Rock 1:11.6
2009 Avenue Governance Broken 1:10.0
2008 Millbank Gold In Dubai Montana Flyer 1:11.1
2007 Royal Asscher El Mandon Wilsons Promontory 1:11.2
2006 Corton Charlemagne Far Horizons Evacuate 1:11.6
2005 Coronga Facing The Breeze Angkhasa 1:12.6
2004 Oratorio Kingify World Peace 1:14.8
2003 Youth Flagmentation Happy Strike 1:11.3
2002 Yell Tycoon Ruler Before Too Long 1:10.9
2001 Deprave Firm La Lagune 1:12.5
2000 Sound The Alarm Wurabinda Senet Pete 1:12.1
1999 Prizefighter Dandy Kid Sudurka 1:13.9
1998 Sedation Tarot Star Marstic 1:11.1
1997 Towkay Classic Day Umrum 1:11.8
1996 Spartacus Blazing Reality Tarnpir Lane 1:13.1
1995 Captive Tuscany Flyer Aural Sculpture 1:10.3
1994 Cannibal King Hunza Court Danzero 1:11.1
1993 Sequalo Alacqua Sparkling Bletch 1:14.7
1992 Snow Lord Awesome Force Simonstad 1:14.8
1991 Hula Grey Laser Beam Naturalism 1:14.0
1990 Begone Muraroa Nonpareils 1:11.3
1989 Hot Arch Street Ruffian Rechabite 1:09.9
1988 Clay Hero Kingston Heritage Candy Is Dandy 1:10.7