Ranvet Stakes

Ranvet Stakes.jpg

Ranvet Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Silent Achiever

The Ranvet Stakes is a weight-for-age race that is held in March every year at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. The 2000M race is a group 1 category event that for the better part of the last decade has attracted some of the best trainers and horse owners in Australia. The Ranvet Stakes is worth $500,000 and last year the title was won by The ForeTeller. Fiveandahalfstar and Mucky Day took second and third respectively.

Over the years the Ranvet Stakes has displayed a number of classy middle distance horses. The event is the perfect lead up test for the BMW and in fact, The Ranvet Stakes is the first 2000M weight-for-age race in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

In recent years, a number of mares have used the Ranvet Stakes as a spring board on their way towards victory in the Group 1 BMW race. Manighar In 2012 took the Ranvet Stakes and The BMW titles in the same year. Other horses that have also managed to achieve this include the Eremien in 2006, The Tuesday Joy in 2008 and the Thesio in 2009.

The Chipping Norton Stakes is a nice lead up race to the Ranvet Stakes and over the last few years, horses that have performed well in the Chipping Norton Stakes have also done very well in the Ranvet Stakes. The Ranvet Stakes is surely one of the biggest annual events in the Australian Horse Racing Calendar. In this year’s event, horse racing fans can expect fireworks at the Rosehill racecourse as some of the best horses in Australia fight it out for the 2014 Ranvet Stakes title.

Ranvet Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Silent Achiever Carlton House It’s A Dundeel 2:02.3
2013 Foreteller Fiveandahalfstar Makuckyday 2:01.5
2012 Manighar Rangirangdoo Shoot Out 2:04.7
2011 Zavite Descarado Hawk Island 2:05.5
2010 Theseo Rangirangdoo Speed Gifted 2:02.3
2009 Thesio Viewed Moatize 2:04.4
2008 Tuesday Joy Princess Coup Desert War 1:55.4
2007 Desert War Confectioner Rallings 2:01.9
2006 Eremein Our Smoking Joe Desert War 2:05.9
2005 Grand Armee Vouvray Hugs Dancer 2:00.9
2004 Sound Action Ambulance Makybe Diva 2:03.2
2003 Republic Lass Northerly Freemason 2:01.0
2002 Universal Prince Dress Circle Freemason 2:05.0
2001 Tie The Knot Hill Of Grace Giovana 2:02.9
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella 2:05.9
1999 Darazari Tie The Knot Nahayan 2:01.9
1998 Gold Guru Might And Power Vitrinite 2:00.2
1997 Arkady Hula Flight The Bandette 2:01.8
1996 Electronic Hello Darl Alcove 2:01.7
1995 Stony Bay Jeune Air Seattle 2:03.4
1994 Dark Ksar Kingston Bay Thrifty Reserve 2:04.7
1993 Veandercross Naturalism Mahaya 2:01.6
1992 My Eagle Eye Rough Habit Stylish Century 2:05.2
1991 Super Impose Royal Creation Dr Grace 2:00.9
1990 Better Loosen Up Sydeston Super Impose 2:02.1
1989 Beau Zam Zamakima Research 2:05.5
1988 Beau Zam Bonhomie Myocard 2:02.3