Randwick Guineas

Randwick Guineas

Randwick Guineas

Date: Saturday 7th March 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $600,000
2014 Winner: Dissident

The Randwick Guineas is an eventful race for three year olds held at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney annually every March. The group 1 race is run over a distance of 1600M under predetermined weight conditions and is worth $600,000 in prize money. Although traditionally The Randwick Guineas is held at the Randwick Racecourse, In The 2012-13 season the race took center stage at the Warwick Farm Racecourse. It’s a Dundeel Took the honors last year with Proisir and Tatra taking second and third place respectively.

The winner of the Randwick Guineas is exempted from ballot at the Doncaster Handicap and the ATC Derby. A lot of horse owners and trainers look at the race as the best challenge for three year old horses in the Sydney autumn Racing Carnival. The history of the Randwick Guineas has been decorated by a number of outstanding mares. It’s a Dundeel that took the crown last year is among some of the major horses that have featured on the race.

Others include The Mosheen in 2012, The Weekend Hussler in 2008, Intergaze in 1997, and the Arena in 1999. One of the most ideal curtain raisers for the Randwick Guineas is the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes at Rosehill and the Phar Lap Stakes. The Rosehill Guineas is also a perfect warm up for three year olds looking to compete at the Randwick Guineas Race. The race is definitely one of the exciting prospects at the 2014 Sydney Autumn Carnival.

Just like in yester years, the race is set to attract some of the best mares in Australia. The Randwick Guineas will feature alongside a number of exciting races on the same day. Some of the notable highlights include the group 3 Skyline Stakes, Sweet Embrace Stakes for 2yo fillies, in addition to the Group 2 Challenge Stakes, The Wenona Handicap and the breathtaking Aspiration Quality.

Randwick Guineas recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Dissident El Roca Eurozone 1:36.3
2013 It’s A Dundeel Proisir Tatra 1:35.1
2012 Mosheen Said Com Laser Hawk 1:37.6
2011 Ilovethiscity Skilled Light Brigade 1:35.3
2010 Shoot Out Viking Legend Captain Sonador 1:34.9
2009 Metal Bender Rock Kingdom Caymans 1:36.5
2008 Weekend Hussler Triple Honour Arlington 1:36.3
2007 Mentality Teranaba Sniper’s Bullet 1:35.7
2006 Hotel Grand Flying Pegasus Primus 1:35.8
2005 Jymcarew Eremein Cheval De Troy 1:57.4
2004 Niello Timbourina Dancing Daggers 1:57.2
2003 Fine Society Beaver Hydrometer 1:57.0
2002 Carnegie Express Pentastic Another Warrior 1:56.2
2001 Universal Prince Danamite Scenic Warrior 1:57.4
2000 Fairway Oval Office Cloth Of God 1:58.7
1999 Arena Lawyer El Duce 1:49.6
1998 Tycoon Lil Tricove Brave Prince 1:49.0
1997 Intergaze Might And Power Great Command 1:47.9
1996 Octagonal Filante Future King 1:59.3
1995 Sharscay Allegro Danewin 1:55.1
1994 Western Red March Hare Fraternity 1:56.1
1993 Kingston Bay Imposing Bull Innocent King 2:00.1
1992 Veandercross Naturalism Big Dreams 1:55.0
1991 St Jude Lord Revenir Stradmore 1:56.8
1990 Interstellar Shaftesbury Avenue Majestic Boy 1:59.5
1989 Riverina Charm Better Loosen Up Chaleyer 1:55.5
1988 High Regard Sky Chase Kappstad 1:57.6