Northwood Plume Stakes

Northwood Plume Stakes

Northwood Plume Stakes

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Mares – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2014 Winner: Griante

The Northwood Plume Stakes is a mare-only Group 3 race that is held as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is held at the Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne and is run over a distance of 1200M. The Northwood Plume Stakes is one of the most competitive and toughest races for mares.

Although the prize money of $120,000 may seem relatively lower, this has not prevented the Northwood Plume Stakes from assembling some exciting sprint talent from Victoria and other parts of the country. The 2013 edition of the race was a perfect embodiment of quality and thrill but in the end, Aerobatic produced a fine sprint in the final hundred meters to take home the title. Assertive Eagle came though to take home second place with Counted settling for third.

In recent years, the Northwood Plume Stakes was actually known as the Sportingbet Series Final and in 2013 the event was upgraded from a listed event to a Group 3 showpiece. In the 2014 Melbourne Spring the race will take center stage on the same day as the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. The best build up event for this race is the Group 3 How Now Stakes but horses that contested the Group 1 Underwood Stakes can also consider running in this race.

However, mares who do well here normally take on other major mares only middle or short distance races but the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes and the big money Caulfield Cup are regarded as the perfect progressions by many horse trainers and jockeys. The Northwood Plume Stakes is always a great display of passionate and pulsating racing. Other notable horses to take part and win the event in recent years include the outstanding Serene Star who took home the title in 2012 and Hinemoa who was on hand to win the race in 2011.

Northwood Plume Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Griante Girl Guide Shamal Wind 1:09.9
2013 Aerobatics Assertive Eagle Counted 1:10.3
2012 Serene Star Koonoomoo Miss Marx 1:09.7
2011 Hinemoa Celts Lady Mahler 1:09.8