Newcastle Gold Cup

Newcastle Gold Cup

Newcastle Gold Cup

Date: Thursday 17th September 2015
Track: Broadmeadow racecourse, Newcastle
Distance: 2300 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Disclaimer

The Newcastle Gold Cup is a quality open handicap event that takes place every year at the Broadmeadow Racecourse in Newcastle, 200KM North of Sydney in New South Wales. The race is a Group 3 long distance event run over a distance of 2300M.

The Newcastle Gold Cup is worth up to $175,000 in prize money and is considered as one of the best and most competitive long distance race in the Sydney Spring Carnival. In the 2013 edition of the race, Winning Glory produced a great run to win it with Lucripetous and Peal of Bells coming through in second and third respectively. The race is part of the two-day Newcastle Racing Carnival.

The event features alongside a number of exciting races including Group 3 races the Cameron Handicap and the Spring Stakes. Although the event is an above average country cup, the race often attracts more than handy type and is never short of horse racing talent. Winners in this event have gone on to do well in other long distance races later in the carnival.

A number of great horses have featured in the Newcastle Gold Cup. Some notable names include Glencadam Gold in 2012, Bianca in 2008 and County Tyrone back in 2004. The Newcastle Gold Cup is always an exciting prospect especially for horse racing lovers who like long distance races. The event is by far the ideal platform for talented country racers to make a name on the big stage and even in the 2014 edition of the race the Newcastle Gold Cup is expected to light up with excitement and enthralling racing.

Newcastle Gold Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Disclaimer Wish Come True 2:23.1
2013 Winning Glory Lucripetous Peal Of Bells 2:24.9
2012 Glencadam Gold Peal Of Bells Gazza Guru 2:23.3
2011 Green Moon Home On A Wing Gazza Guru 2:22.4
2010 Stratofortress Snow Alert Scottish Border 2:22.2
2009 Streetfighter Lodge The Deeds Enzedex Eagle 2:26.9
2008 Bianca Keepin The Dream County Tyrone 2.23.4
2007 Race not held
2006 Bikkie Tin Blues Exinite Respect 2:21.3
2005 Carael Boy = 1 High Cee = 1 Cross Bar 2:25.8
2004 Another Warrior New York Style County Tyrone 2:20.5
2003 Comforts My Tally Daneborogh 2:21.5
2002 Time Off Red Trinket Danyon 2:23.4
2001 Agincourt Express Yuppie Consolidator 2:24.8
2000 Silent Impact Prophet’s Kiss She’s Neat 2:28.4
1999 Maltese Beauty Zexzabeel Edward Brae 2:30.0
1998 Joss Sticks Ronzino In Joyment 2:30.8
1997 Emerald Cut Aphasia Our Mr Kinman 2:31.9
1996 My Kiwi Gold Super Monarch Few Are Chosen 2:27.5
1995 Seto Bridge Gossips Electronic 2:27.4
1994 Oompala Striking Gold Pl. C’quest/Mjr Dec. 2:30.3
1993 Azzaam Paris Fire Moods 2:38.1
1992 Beachside Donegal Mist Sir Winston 2:32.3
1991 Maharajah Ecliptic Rural Prince 2:26.0
1990 Our Magic Man Donegal Mist Macquarie Prince 2:21.7
1989 Hunter Macquarie Prince Just Irish 2:25.6
1988 Eye Of The Sky Prince Toronaga Grosvenor Square 2:26.7
1987 The Brotherhood Kensei Lord Hybrow 2:23.5
1986 Indian Raj Coobers Gold Born To Be Queen 2:26.9
1985 Mr Mako On Stage Reckless Tradition 2:23.6
1984 Forward Charge Admiral Lincoln Lost Valley 2:23.9
1983 Chiamare Hayai Noble Heights 2:26.2
1982 Gurner’s Lane Port Carling Elmar 2:26.4
1981 No Peer Sean’s Pride Under Orders 2:24.5
1980 Star Dynasty Reckon I’m Ready Prodigal 2:23.4