Myer Classic

Chatham Stakes

Myer Classic

Date: Saturday 31st October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares – Weight for age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Bonaria

The Myer Classic is one of the major and highly rated Group 1 races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is held every year in November or late October at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. The event is exclusive to mares and fillies only and is run over a sprint distance of 1600M. The Myer Classic is never short of excitement and most importantly talent. Although the event is not one of the big money races in the Melbourne Spring, a purse of $500,000 is considered by many horse owners respectable and in fact the prize money has played an important role in recent years to attract elite horses.

The 2013 edition of the Myer Classic was won by Red Tracer after the mare produced a breathtaking run in the final stretch to beat Catkins and Fire Up Fifi who both had to settle for second and third respectively. The Myer Classic takes center stage on derby day and shares the stage with a number of exciting races including the big money Melbourne Cup, the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby and the Cool Moore Stud Stakes.

The race has endured a number of name changes over the last few years but that has not in any way affected the high quality racing the event has showcased for the better part of its history. The event was upgraded from a Group 2 Status race to a Group 1 event a few years back. The race is considered the classic mile race for emerging and in-form mares and fillies from Australia and New Zealand. The most ideal build up races for the Myer Classic include Group 2 races the Rose of Kingston Stakes and the Tristarc Stakes.

Last year, the outstanding Red Tracer became the last mare to claim a Myer Classic and Tristarc Stakes double in what was a great run from the horse. The Myer Classic is always a great platform for emerging fillies and mares. Divine Madonna for example in 2007 came from a modest start in the Melbourne Spring to win the Myer Classic on course to an outstanding victory in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes. The race is expected to maintain the same level of thrill in this year’s Melbourne Spring Carnival.

Myer Classic recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Bonaria Sweet Idea Catkins 1:34.9
2013 Red Tracer Catkins Fire Up Fifi 1:36.4
2012 Appearance Soft Sand Secret Admirer 1:34.9
2011 Hurtle Myrtle Sacred Choice Dysphonia 1:37.5
2010 Sacred Choice Typhoon Tracy Hot Danish 1:38.9
2009 Typhoon Tracy Lady Lynette Zarita 1:35.3
2008 Forensics Absolutely Fabulous Mimi Lebrock 1:35.9
2007 Divine Madonna Translate Red for Lou 1:36.1
2006 Lyrical Bid Sea Change Kosi Bay 1:37.6
2005 Lotteria Miss Potential Shania Dane 1:35.4
2004 Miss Potential Alinghi Infinite Grace 1:37.5
2003 Zanna Infinite Grace Mrs Tendulkar 1:38.4
2002 Miss Zoe Purple Groove Ramanos Star 1:35.8
2001 Market Price Pernod Calm Smytzer 1:34.2
2000 Super Sequel Its Platonic Nova Claus 1:37.8
1999 Noircir Veil Our Erin 1:36.4
1998 Bonanova Lucys Way Graceful Encounter 1:37.1
1997 Prairie On A Swing Spectrum 1:36.8
1996 Rose Of Portland Gold City Miss Margaret 1:36.0
1995 Aunty Mary Our Marquise Tolanda 1:34.8
1994 Sedately Centisle Bon Precieux 1:37.6
1993 Mingling Glances Excited Angel Jon Jons Pet 1:39.8
1992 Excited Angel Something Wicked Beach Charm 1:38.5
1991 Western Chorus Marinella Holiday Lover 1:35.5
1990 Natural Wonder Ice Cream Sundae Our Grey Invader 1:36.9
1989 Echo Lass Modesty On Ice Dowager Empress 1:37.6
1988 Concordance Knightly Glimmer Lady Marita 1:35.8