Moonga Stakes

Caulfield Classic

Moonga Stakes

Date: Saturday 17th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Lucky Hussler

The Moonga Stakes is a popular Group 3 race open to any four year old and above horses experienced in short distance races. The event is run under pre-determined weights over a 1400M distance and is today worth up to $125,000.

The race was until some years back known as the Betfair Stakes and today has the pleasure of sharing the same date and the same stage with the Group 1 Caulfield Cup. In the 2013 edition of the race, the outstanding Boban produced one of the sizzling sprint performances of the spring carnival to win the race ahead of Strawberry Boy and Galah who both had to settle for second and third respectively.

Since its debut, the Moonga Stakes has been graced by a number of high profile horses. The event is a great build up for horses looking to build some positive momentum before tackling any other competitive sprint races. In 2011, Albert The Fat came from a second placed finish in the Moonga Stakes to win the Group 1 Emirates Stakes. Hurtle Myrtle in the same year finished fifth in the Moonga Stakes but did well to take home the Group 1 Myer Classic.

The Moonga Stakes has a proud history of showcasing a remarkable field of great talent and even though the event assembles more than handy sprinters, it has played an important role in unearthing some of the most exciting sprinters in recent years. In the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the event is expected to elicit wild and thrilling reactions from fans and jockeys alike.

Moonga Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Lucky Hussler Under The Louvre Generalife 1:23.4
2013 Boban Strawberry Boy Galah 1:23.8
2012 Whateverwhenever King’s Rose Mcclintock 1:23.7
2011 Love Conquers All Albert The Fat Pinwheel 1:21.9
2010 Rothera Sniper’s Bullet Jungle Ruler 1:25.8
2009 McClintock Rightfully Yours Kiloton 1:22.7
2008 Royal Discretion Turffontein Stickpin 1.23.6
2007 Lord Of The Dance Polish Clown Solar Secret 1:22.6
2006 Perfectly Ready Live In Vain Caprizzi Strip 1:22.3
2005 Volitant Yell Shadow 1:21.3
2004 Amtrak Pink Fit Monahan Tweed 1:24.6
2003 Thorn Park Lord Volksraad Regal Roller 1:22.5
2002 Assertive Lad El Nino Prince Rubiton 1:22.9
2001 Flavour Inspire Make Mine Magic 1:24.8
2000 Cellar Hire Weasel Will 1:21.8
1999 Another Neptune Strident Weasel Will 1:23.5
1998 Buster Jones Blazing Steel Bezeal Bay 1:24.3
1997 Monets Cove Delsole Confiscate 1:22.6
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille Hero Wind Hunza Court 1:24.6
1995 Royal Blue Taos Social Rule 1:24.2
1994 Star Dancer Chemin De Fer Sportsbeat 1:23.2
1993 Cogitate Cocky Beau Unequalled 1:22.7
1992 Rough Habit Rare Chance Black Rouge 1:30.0
1991 Steineck Pontormo Prince Ormenium 1:23.8
1990 Royal Pay Sioux Chief Procol Harum 1:27.3
1989 Heavenly View Better Loosen Up Acid Print 1:23.2
1988 Vo Rogue Prismatic Star Jet Fighter 1:23.1