Moonee Valley Cup

Moonee Valley Cup

Moonee Valley Cup

Date: Saturday 24th October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Prince Of Penzance

The Moonee Valley Cup is a high profile long distance race held as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest city – Melbourne. The event is run under set weights over a long distance of 2500M and is considered as one of the most competitive Group 2 long distance races in the Melbourne Spring. In the last few years, the Moonee Valley Cup was run as the Drake International Cup and is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money.

Since its debut, the event has managed to build a great reputation as one of the thrilling long distance races and even in 2013, it was not any different. In the end though, it was Precedence who carried the day with a resilient run to clinch the title. Shoreham came through in second with Gotta Take Care having to settle for third. Despite the fact that the Moonee Valley Cup may not be as rich or as prestigious as other long distance races such as the Melbourne and the Caulfield Cups, the event is still a great pick for a number of high quality runners from Australia.

The race is actually seen by many horse trainers and jockeys as the most ideal lead up race to the Melbourne Cup – the biggest race in the Melbourne Spring Carnival. The outstanding Kingston Rule was the last horse to win the Moonee Valley Cup and the Melbourne Cup double back in 1990. In 2002 though, Brew came close to a double victory after running second in the Moonee Valley Cup on course towards a hard earned victory in the Melbourne Cup.

The Moonee Valley Cup has produced great champions and some have even made it big in other races either during the Melbourne Spring or later in other Carnivals. Americain for example won the race in 2011 and later also took home the Group 2 Sundown Classic. The Melbourne Spring this year is shaping up to be a highly entertaining event and the Moonee Valley Cup will surely play an important role in achieving this.

Moonee Valley Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Prince Of Penzance Le Roi Au Revoir 2:36.0
2013 Precedence Shoreham Gotta Take Care 2:36.9
2012 Vatuvei Reuben Percival Ironstein 2:35.7
2011 Americain Heart Of Dreams Illo 2:36.4
2010 Precedence Above Average Capecover 2:38.9
2009 The Sportsman Irazu Think Money 2:37.3
2008 Gallopin Baughurst Ice Chariot 2:36.5
2007 Gallic Lazer Sharp Jukebox Johnny 2:36.5
2006 Zipping Show Barry Gallic 2:38.9
2005 Umbula Bazelle Kindjhal 2:45.1
2004 Another Warrior Rizon Hard To Get 2:37.1
2003 Frightening Legible County Tyrone 2:38.5
2002 Thong Classic Rain Gauge Mr Prudent 2:40.9
2001 Rain Gauge Spirit Of Westbury Big Pat 2;37.6
2000 Yippyio Brew Cronus 2:41.3
1999 Streak Cronus Second Coming 2:38.2
1998 Prince Standaan Skybeau Zdenka 2:36.3
1997 Court Of Honour Linesman Yobro 2:36.8
1996 Istidaad Protaras Bay Cheviot 2:41.0
1995 Storm Bullwinkle Quick Ransom 2:38.9
1994 Top Rating Starstruck Our Pompeii 2:45.9
1993 Glastonbury Notwithstanding Ramyah 2:38.7
1992 Donegal Mist Cross Swords Fraar 2:38.0
1991 Al Maheb The Hipprogriff Rasheek 2:41.9
1990 Kingston Rule Flying Luskin Chaleyer 2:40.1
1989 Sydeston Cosign Tawrrific 2:42.2
1988 Ideal Centreman Zamakima Shantaroun 2:46.4