Missile Stakes

Missile Stakes

Missile Stakes

Date: Saturday 8th August 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Sweet Idea

The Missile Stakes is one of the premier weight-for-age Group 3 races in the Sydney Spring Carnival. The event takes center stage at Sydney’s Randwick racecourse every year in September and is worth up to $125,000 in prize money. The Missile Stakes is an ideal sprint race for speedy horses and is run over a 1200M distance.

The 2013 race was one of the most exciting ones in the Spring Carnival with Rain Affair doing remarkably well to win it ahead of Mic Mac and Title who both finished second and third respectively. The Missile Stakes is actually the first Group Race in the Sydney Spring and always presents a great build up for other big events in the carnival. For the better part of its proud history, the Missile Stakes has featured some of Australia’s solid and most talented sprinters.

Some of the notable talents to grace this race include among others Lonhro back in 2002, The Dance Hero in 2005 and Guineas in 1997. The Missile Stakes is a great lead up for other sprint races or weight for age events that come later in the Carnival. Horses that perform well in the event can consider running in the Group 2 Warwick Stakes or the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes.

Back in 2013, Pinwheel came so close to a Missile Stakes and Warwick Stakes double after finishing third in the Missile Stakes on course towards a spectacular victory in the Warwick Stakes. Jockeys and horse trainers consider the Missile Stakes as a perfect springboard towards future success later. Horses can build a good momentum from the race and in even in 2014, the event is expected to open the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival in pomp and Style.

Missile Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Sweet Idea Messene Rebel Dane 1:09.4
2013 Rain Affair Mic Mac Title 1:10.8
2012 Pinwheel Centennial Park Rolling Pin 1:09.7
2011 Rain Affair Winter King Pinwheel 1:10.7
2010 Love Conquers All Danleigh Sniper’s Bullet 1:12.4
2009 Teasing Gold Trail Typhoon Zed 1:04.4
2008 Captain Bax Typhoon Zed Interfere 1:05.4
2007 German Chocolate La Montagna Vionneto 1:04.6
2006 Imprisoned Crimson Reign Mac’S Tune 1:06.3
2005 Dance Hero Snippetson Spark Of Life 1:02.8
2004 Spark Of Life Into The Night Dane Shadow 1:02.8
2003 Pompeii Academe Our Egyptian Raine 1:03.7
2002 Lonhro Ancient Song Notoire 1:03.5
2001 Sportsbrat Air She Goes Lonhro 1:06.7
2000 Padstow Wynciti Celestial Choir 1:03.8
1999 Commands Padstow Techniques 1:05.1
1998 Mr. Victory Masked Party Juggler 1:05.1
1997 Guineas Spartacus Moss Rocket 1:02.7
1996 Legal Agent Our Lance Moss Rocket 1:04.0
1995 Brawny Spirit Light Up The World Masked Party 1:03.9
1994 Klokka Stormy Regent Double Your Bet 1:03.9
1993 Klokka All Our Mob Spanish Mix 1:05.3
1992 Joanne Spanish Mix Hula Grey 1:03.4
1991 Joanne Dr. Grace All Archie 1:04.6
1990 Potrero Dance Band Rise ‘N’ Shine 1:05.9
1989 Select Prince Targlish Temple Front 1:08.0
1988 Campaign King High Regard Wong 1:03.6
1987 Campaign King Plum Shore Targlish 1:05.7
1986 Shankhill Lass Manuan Riverdale 1:04.8
1985 Row Of Waves Real Dream Vari’S Ace 1:04.6
1984 Plus Vite Buena Gold Real Dream 1:09.8
1983 Young Blood Sabre Dancer Flash Doll 1:05.9
1982 Nordic Prince Flash Doll Latin Saint 1:05.6