Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap

Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap

Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap

Date: Saturday 5th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Panzer Division

The Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap is a quality handicap Group 3 race that comes around during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The race is exclusive to thoroughbreds only and is held annually at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales. The Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap was inaugurated in 1986 and since then the event has grown significantly to become one of Australia most popular events.

The Group 3 race is run over a sprint distance of 1400M with a prize money purse of up to $125,000 up for grabs. The event is named in honor of great Australian horse Ming Dynasty who accomplished a number of memorable victories including a treble win in the Caulfield Cup, The Australian Cup and The Chelmsford Stakes. The event has endured a number of name changes. It debuted in 1986 as the Drainsfield Quality Handicap and was later changed to The Laing and Simmons Quality Handicap in 1993.

The event however was renamed a year later to the Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap and the name has stuck until today. In 2012, the event has upgraded from a listed race to a Group 3 race – a perfect testament of the quality racing it has consistently showcased in recent years. Imperial Majesty was the proud winner of the inaugural Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap back in 1986.

Other notable horses to grace the event include the 2013 champion Aussies Love Sport, Lion Tamer back in 2010, Predatory Pricer in 2008, and More than Great back in 2009. The event has in recent years become a major sprint race with a great field of talent to offer. The 2014 edition of the Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap is expected to light up the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and horse racing enthusiast and trainers can look forward to a great and breathtaking showpiece

Ming Dynasty Quality recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Panzer Division Shooting To Win Lady Sharapova 1:25.6
2013 Aussies Love Sport Open Book Champagne Cath 1:21.7
2012 Tatra Proverb Honorious 1:23.4
2011 Ambidexter Sangster Darci Be Good 1:23.2