Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup

Date: Tuesday 3rd November 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 3200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $6,175,000
2014 Winner: Protectionist

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s biggest horse racing event that is held every year on Tuesdays in November at the Flemington Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest City, Melbourne. The event literally brings the entire nation to a standstill and often attracts crowds and fans in excess of 100,000 every year. The Melbourne Cup is run over a long distance of 3200M making it the premier long distance race of the Melbourne Spring and the entire Australian horse racing calendar. The race is today worth up to $6,175,000 in prize money and is the world richest horse race.

As expected, the event only assembles elite and high profile horses and in its proud history, the Melbourne Cup has grown to become the most thrilling and popular race in Australia and the world at large. The 2013 edition of the race was won by Fiorente who passionately put up a resilient fight for the entire 3200M to beat Red Cadeaux and Mount Athos in second and third respectively. The 2014 edition of the Melbourne Cup will mark the 153rd edition of a race that has become part of Australia’s sports culture. The traditional build up races for the Melbourne Cup include the Group 2 Lexus Stakes and the million dollar Group 1 McKinnon Stakes.

The Group 3 Geelong Stakes however has done well to produce two out of the four winners who have taken home the Melbourne Cup in the last four years. American and Dunaden both took home the Geelong Stakes in 2010 and 2011 respectively before replicating the same success in the Melbourne Cup. Makybe Diva is arguably the most outstanding horse to grace the race after winning the event three years in a row between 2003 and 2005.

The Melbourne Cup is an international event and since 1993, the race has assembled talented horses from different parts of the world. Media Puzzle was the last visitor to win the race back in 2002. Other notable horses to take home this memento of breathtaking horse racing include Shocking who won the race in 2009, Ethereal in 2001 and Efficient in 2007. The Melbourne Cup this year is expected to be even bigger and will surely be the major highlight of the Spring Carnival.

Melbourne Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Protectionist Red Cadeaux Who Shot Thebarman 3:17.7
2013 Fiorente Red Cadeaux Mount Athos 3.20.3
2012 Green Moon Fiorente Jakkalberry 3:20.4
2011 Dunaden Red Cadeaux Lucas Cranach 3:20.8
2010 Americain Maluckyday So You Think 3.26:8
2009 Shocking Crime Scene Mourilyan 3:23.8
2008 Viewed Bauer C’est La Guerre 3:20.4
2007 Efficient Purple Moon Mahler 3.23.3
2006 Delta Blues Pop Rock Maybe Better 3.21.5
2005 Makybe Diva On A Jeune Xcellent 3.19.1
2004 Makybe Diva Vinnie Roe Zazzman 3.28.5
2003 Makybe Diva She’s Archie Jardine’s Lookout 3.19.9
2002 Media Puzzle Mr Prudent Beekeeper 3.16.9
2001 Ethereal Give The Slip Persian Punch 3.21.0
2000 Brew Yippyio Second Coming 3.18.6
1999 Rogan Josh Central Park Lahar 3.19.6
1998 Jezabeel Champagne Persian Punch 3.18.5
1997 Might And Power Doriemus Markham 3.18.3
1996 Saintly Count Chivas Skybeau 3.18.8
1995 Doriemus Nothin’ Leica Dane Vintage Crop 3.27.6
1994 Jeune Paris Lane Oompala 3.19.8
1993 Vintage Crop Te Akau Nick Mercator 3.23.4
1992 Subzero Veandercross Castletown 3.24.7
1991 Let’s Elope Shiva’s Revenge Magnolia Hall 3.18.9
1990 Kingston Rule The Phantom Mr Brooker 3.16.3
1989 Tawrrific Super Impose Kudz 3.17.1
1988 Empire Rose Natksi Na Botto 3.18.9