Maurice McCarten Stakes

Maurice McCarten Stakes

Maurice McCarten Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Kencella

The Maurice McCarten Stakes is a quality Handicap race worth $150,000 in prize money. The Group 3 event is held every year in February at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse and is one of the thrilling Group 3 races in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The Maurice McCarten Stakes is run over 1600M and in this year’s edition, Kencella showcased great skill and strength to win the race ahead of Va Pensiero and That’s a Good Idea in second and third place respectively.

The Maurice McCarten Stakes became a Group 3 event after it was elevated from a listed race for the 2013-14 season. The new Group 3 status also came with a change of name from the Bacardi Untameable Stakes to the Maurice McCarten Stakes. Over the last few years, the race has not been short of thrilling and exciting horse racing. The event also features along the Group 1 Coolmore Classic on the same day at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse.

A lot of horse trainers and jockeys see the Maurice McCarten Stakes as an ideal sprint event for gifted and talented 3yos looking to make their name on the big stage of Australian horse racing. The Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes is a good lead up event for the Maurice McCarten Stakes. 3yos looking to feature in the race can also consider running in the Liverpool City Cup and gauge their abilities over sprint distances.

Later in the month, horses that perform well in the Maurice McCarten Stakes can consider running in the Group 1 The Galaxy. Recent winners in the Group 3 Race include Title in 2012 and See The World back in 2013. For horse racing enthusiasts looking for an exciting and competitive race that features the less elite 3yos, the Maurice McCarten Stakes should be a perfect pick.

Maurice McCarten Stakes recent winners & placegetters

tr style=”background-color:#73C250;height:40px;border:1px solid #EFEFEF”>

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Kencella Va Pensiero That’s A Good Idea 1:03.7
2013 See the World Anise Hurrara 1:03.9
2012 Title Uate Zaratone 1:04.8
2011 Atomic Force Winter King Dorf Command 1:03.1