Matriarch Stakes

Matriarch Stakes

Matriarch Stakes

Date: Saturday 7th November 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Mares – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Suavito

The Matriarch Stakes is an eye-catching middle distance race that comes around during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is run over 2000M at the iconic Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne every year in November. The Matriarch Stakes is exclusive to mares only and the race is today worth up to $300,000 in prize money.

The event was renamed a few years back from the Momentum Energy Stakes and will feature on the same day along the Group 1 Emirates Stakes and the Patinack Farm Classic. In its proud and cherished history, the Matriarch Stakes has produced a number of high profile and talented middle distance runners. The 2013 edition of the race was a remarkable contest and in the end, Girl Gone Rockin’ was on hand to claim the spoils after a breathtaking and resilient run from start to finish. Coming through in second and third respectively was Queenstown and Keep De Rose.

In recent years, the Matriarch Stakes has largely been a stage for above average and handy mares looking to make a name on the big stage of Australian horse racing. The event is run under set weights and mares that do well in the race can consider taking on the Group 3 Ellipse Stakes or the Group 2 Sundown Classic. A lot of horse trainers look at the race as a great warm up and a test for new or mares coming back from a bad run in form.

However, the competitive nature of the event and the quality has remained high making the Matriarch Stakes one of the must see races in the Melbourne Spring racing Carnival. Other notable mares to win the race in recent years include the outstanding Well Rounded who took the title in 2010, Bird on Fire back in 2008, Sutology in 2005 and Midnight Martini who graciously won the Matriarch Stakes in 2012.

Matriarch Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Suavito Girl In Flight Amanpour 2:01.7
2013 Girl Gone Rockin’ Queenstown Keep De Rose 2:04.7
2012 Midnight Martini Lake Sententia Crafty Irna 2:03.1
2011 Vintedge Stole Skyerush 2:01.2
2010 Well Rounded Purple Keep The Peace 2:02.5
2009 Purple Moment in Time Lady Lynette 2:00.1
2008 Bird of Fire Tan Tat De Lago El Daana 2:05.0
2007 Hidden Strings Sovereign Miss Danevade 2:03.9
2006 Brom Felinity Pin Up Purde 2:02.1
2005 Sutology Storm Alert Aqua D Amore 2:02.1
2004 Demerger Aint Seen Nothin Full Spec 2:04.8
2003 Sweet Corn Sylvaner Mrs Tendulkar 2:04.4
2002 Damaschino Little Miss Quick Terrenora 2:00.6
2001 Piper Star Umaline Tickle My 2:01.5
2000 Flushed Nova Clause Tickle My 2:02.6
1999 Sly Sandra Our Erin Nova Clause 2:03.3
1998 Laebeel Vestey Al Buraymi 2:02.0
1997 Battochi Burning Embers Star Cossack 2:01.7
1996 Gold City Palos Verdes Central Express 2:01.4
1995 Magical Storm Amuse Us Our Brigetta 2:03.0
1994 Sudden Wonder La Poundage Tristera 2:03.0
1993 Gilded Splendor Antwerp Dream About It 2:02.1
1992 Big Colony Tarare Late For Breakfasat 2:03.2
1991 Big Colony Rich Dreams Hermoso 2:00.5
1990 Bassies Pride Fun Is Racing Mrs Joe Gargery 2:03.8
1989 French Icing Lady Jess Imposing Bloom 2:02.7
1988 Concordance Conbituate Lady Papal Princess 2:05.9