Maribyrnong Plate

Crown Oaks

Maribyrnong Plate

Date: Saturday 7th November 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 2yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Prompt Return

The Maribyrnong Plate is an entertaining Group 3 race exclusive for two year old horses only. The race is run over 1000M under set weights and is one of the shortest races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Maribyrnong Plate is held at the iconic Flemington Racecourse as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is today worth up to $150,000 in prize money. For the better part of the last decade, the Maribyrnong Plate has been a beacon of quality horse racing and every year the event has done remarkably well to attract massive crowds.

The 2012 edition of the race was not any different and in the end of it all, Direct Charge took the title beating a number of high profile sprinters in the process. Crack A Roadie and Shamus Award had to both settle for second and third respectively in what was a remarkably pulsating contest. In the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Carnival, the race will feature on the same day as the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic and the Emirates Stakes.

The Maribyrnong Plate often assembles quality sprinters even if they may not be the popular elite horses. The event is run on the 1000M straight stretch at Flemington and is a typical sprint race that showcases breathtaking speeds and stamina. Many champions who have taken home this race have grown to become some of the finest sprinters at the top level of Australian Horse Racing.

Some of the notable two year olds to win this race include the outstanding Arctic Command who was on hand to take the title in 2010, Nadeem in 2005 and Real Stolle who won the race in 2011. Shamus Award run third in the 2012 edition of the Maribyrnong Plate on course towards a well earned victory in the Group 1 WS Cox Plate. The quality and sheer sprint talent that marks the Maribyrnong Plate every year is always exciting and this race will surely be a major pick among horse racing lovers across the country.

Maribyrnong Plate recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Prompt Return Old Trieste Sailing By 0:57.5
2012 Direct Charge Crack A Roadie Shamus Award 0:58.3
2011 Real Stolle Andre Roo Hoo Magnus Reign 0:57.7
2010 Arctic Command Aashiq Running Tall 0:57.9
2009 General Truce Sweet Cheeks She’s Got Gears 0:57.2
2008 Our Joan Of Arc Zaffaan Happy Knockout 0.58.3
2007 Exceedingly Good Reaan Nato 0:57.5
2006 Husson Lightning Deferential Meurice 0:57.9
2005 Nadeem Follow The Till Bariagarney 0:57.5
2004 Jiang Seidnazar Strikes Back 1:00.3
2003 Sanziro Love Jeddah Insurgents 0:58.2
2002 Ra Sun Pinchbeck Express Ball 0:58.3
2001 Bel Esprit Nessuno Cousy 0:57.0
2000 Langoustine Desert Angel Malagra Miss 0:57.6
1999 Happy Giggle Preserve Pembleton 1:00.3
1998 Testa Rossa Real Jester Walk The Wild Side 0:56.6
1997 Catnipped Prowl Piccadilly Circus 0:58.5
1996 Lady Of The Pines Tregurrian Deceive 0:57.7
1995 Flavour Samudera Encosta De Lago 1:05.1
1994 Exclusive Halo Principality More Luskin 1:13.3
1993 Tennessee Morn Racer’s Edge Exceller 0:57.3
1992 The Heavyweight Clever Zoe Sports Works 0:59.6
1991 Cathfire Vertingly Rhythm 0:58.1
1990 Raise A Rhythm Lady Purpose Pampas Fire 0:57.5
1989 Canny Lad Manitor Century Pike 0:57.2
1988 Show County Momentaire Sculptured Arch 0:58.3