Manikato Stakes

Ladies Day Vase

Manikato Stakes

Date: Friday 23rd October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2014 Winner: Lankan Rupee

The Manikato Stakes is a popular weight for age Group 1 race that is held annually as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The race is staged at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria and is today worth up to $750,000 in prize money. The Manikato Stakes is named after outstanding Australian race horse Manikato who recorded some remarkable victories at the Moonee Valley and was one of the most loved horses in Australia.

The Manikato Stakes debuted in 1968 as the Freeway Stakes but the name was changed in 1984 in honor of Manikato. Since then, the event has grown to become one of the major races in Australia and especially in Victoria. Buffering was the proud winner of the 2013 edition of the Manikato Stakes after the horse produced a remarkable sprint to beat Lucky Nine and Sessions into second and third respectively. The Manikato Stakes is run over 1200M and the distance often favors seasoned sprinters.

The event features on the same day as the Group 2 Moone Valley Fillies Classic which should complete a great line up of thrilling racing. Over the last few years, the Manikato Stakes has largely been won by a top class and elite horse. The ideal build up races for the Manikato Stakes include the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes, the Group 2 McEwen Stakes or the Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes. The race has been graced by the finest race horses in Australia some of who have gone on to make it big in other events.

Last year, Buffering came close to a Manikato Stakes and AJ Moir Stakes double running second in the latter only to claim the Manikato Stakes title weeks later. Horses that perform well in the race can move on to take on the WS Cox Plate. The Manikato Stakes is a great platform for elite sprinters to make their mark on the Melbourne Spring Carnival and the race should be an ideal pick for horse racing fans in Victoria looking to enjoy pulsating and exciting sprinting talents from across the country.

Manikato Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Lankan Rupee Angelic Light Famous Seamus 1:10.3
2013 Buffering Lucky Nine Sessions 1:11.4
2012 Sea Siren Mental We’re Gonna Rock 1:11.3
2011 Sepoy Sister Madly More Joyous 1:11.0
2010 Hay List True Persuasion Eagle Falls 1:09.9
2009 Danleigh Phelan Ready Nicconi 1:12.5
2008 Typhoon Zed Absolut Glam Kaphero 1:10.6
2007 Gold Edition Vormista Dr Nipandtuck 1:10.6
2006 Miss Andretti Dance Hero Sassbee 1:09.2
2005 Spark Of Life Perfectly Ready Our Egyptian Raine 1:11.5
2004 Spark Of Life Yell Dilly Dally 1:13.3
2003 Spinning Hill True Glo The Big Chill 1:11.2
2002 Spinning Hill Bel Esprit Mistegic 1:10.5
2001 Piavonic Sunline Falvelon 1:12.9
2000 Sunline Honour The Name Miss Pennymoney 1:11.6
1999 Redoutes Choice Marstic Flavour 1:14.5
1998 Dane Ripper Sir Boom Theatre 1:12.3
1997 Spartacus Poetic King Cut Up Rough 1:11.3
1996 Poetic King You Remember Sequalo 1:12.3
1995 You Remember Seascay Blevic 1:10.1
1994 Spanish Mix Primacy Chemin De Fer 1:10.6
1993 Never Undercharge Silver Neon Prince Acumen 1:13.6
1992 King Marauding Durbridge Yachtie 1:12.1
1991 Sonic Express Wrap Around Street Ruffian 1:12.6
1990 Street Ruffian Jet Fighter Kings High 1:12.1
1989 Our Westminster Vitalic Redelva 1:08.0
1988 Rancho Ruler Special Our Westminster 1:10.7