Makybe Diva Stakes

Makybe Diva Stakes

Makybe Diva Stakes

Date: Saturday 12th September 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2014 Winner: Dissident

The Makybe Diva Stakes is a pulsating Group 1 race that takes place at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria. The weight-for-age race is run every year over a sprint distance of 1600M and is today regarded as one of the most thrilling short distance races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Makybe Diva Stakes has a purse of up to $350,000 in prize money and was previously run as the Craglee Stakes. The race has been a spectacular showpiece especially because of the thrilling sprint talent that it has managed to showcase in its history.

The 2013 winner of the Makybe Diva Stakes was Foreteller after a remarkable run to beat Puissance De Lune to second. Moudre came through in third to complete the three podium places in what was a high quality race. The event is named after outstanding mare Makybe Diva who won the Melbourne cup three times. The Makybe Diva Stakes was upgraded from a Group 2 race to a Group 1 event for the 2013-14 season and even in the future, the race is expected to grow bigger and better. The Makybe Diva Stakes has largely been a race for the elite and high quality sprinters.

The event is always rich in great sprint talent and in recent years, it has been won by an elite or in-from sprinter. The event is a perfect build up for the Group 1 Underwood Stakes held a few weeks later at the Caulfield Recourse or The Group 1 Turnbull Stakes which is held at the Flemington Racecourse. The event takes center stage on the same day as Group 2 races the Danehill Stakes, the Let’s Elope Stakes and the exciting Group 3 Bobby Lewis Quality.

In 2011, Glass Harmonium came agonizingly close to a Makybe Diva Stakes and a Turnbull Stakes double after finishing second in both these races. The horse would however better her performance in the Group 1 McKinnon Stakes after coming through to win it in exciting fashion. Other notable horses to take part in the race include Typhoon Tracy who finished second in 2009 on course towards impressive victories in the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes and the Group 1 Myer Classic. Other horses to win the race include Shocking in 2010 and the outstanding Weekend Hussler back in 2008.

Makybe Diva Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Dissident Fawkner Puissance De Lune 1:36.9
2013 Foreteller Puissance De Lune Moudre 1:37.0
2012 Southern Speed Manighar Moudre 1:37.8
2011 Littorio Glass Harmonium Midas Touch 1:37.8
2010 Shocking Heart Of Dreams Vigor 1:41.7
2009 Vigor Typhoon Tracy Master O’Reilly 1:35.8
2008 Weekend Hussler Zarita Littorio 1:38.6
2007 Marasco Apache Cat Zipping 1:36.7
2006 Pompeii Ruler Sphenophyta Zipping 1:38.5
2005 Confectioner Free At Last Our Smoking Joe 1:35.8
2004 Hugs Dancer Elvstoem Zagalia 1:38.2
2003 Pentastic Walk On Air Mummify 1:37.2
2002 Northerly Le Zagaletta Silver Baron 1:37.9
2001 Native Jazz Aka Bilk Universal Prince 1:37.4
2000 Go Flash Go Oliver Twist Showella 1:42.1
1999 Sky Heights Laebeel What Can I Say 1:37.3
1998 Umrum Darazari Our Unicorn 1:35.7
1997 Marble Halls Count Chivas Istidaad 1:37.6
1996 Saleous Sir Boom Alcove 1:38.5
1995 Jeune Mahogany Storm 1:35.0
1994 Mahogany State Taj Jeune 1:37.4
1993 Mannerism Air Seattle Our Pompeii 1:38.8
1992 Star Of The Realm Subzero Grooming 1:38.7
1991 Durbridge Prince Salieri Sydeston 1:37.9
1990 Zabeel Gopak Sydeston 1:36.5
1989 Apollo Run Almaarad Super Impose 1:37.2
1988 High Regard Rancho Ruler Flotilla 1:38.0