Keith F Nolan Classic

Keith F Nolan Classic

Keith F Nolan Classic

Date: Sunday 22nd March 2015
Track: Kembla Grange racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weight + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $165,000
2013 Winner: Zanbagh

The Keith F Nolan Classic is 1600M race for three year old fillies held annually in March at the Kembla Grange Racecourse in New South Wales. The Group 3 race is today worth $165,000 in prize money and in this year’s event, Zanbagh produced a strong performance to win the title ahead of Role Model and Metaphorical in second and third respectively. The Kembla Grange is regarded as a perfect identical course of Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse and is located 95 kilometers on the South of Sydney.

Before making its way to the Kembla Grange Race course, the Keith F Nolan Classic in 2011 took center stage at the Rosehill Racecourse and was run over a distance of 1800M. Although the event is part of the provincial racing circuit, in its history it has attracted a good number of above average fillies most of which have also done remarkably well in other major events in the Sydney Autumn.

It is based on this high quality racing that the race was elevated from just a listed event to a Group 3 race for the 2009-10 racing season. Fillies that perform well in the Keith F Nolan Classic can also consider running in the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes as they build up for the premier fillies event in the Sydney Autumn – The ATC Australian Oaks.

A number of top class fillies have emerged from the Keith F Nolan Classic. One of the notable horses is The Royal Decent which in 2013 finished second in the Group 3 event on course towards victory in the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes and the ATC Australian Oaks. Since its elevation to a Group 3 race back in 2009, the Keith F Nolan Classic has remained one of the exciting and pulsating horse races in Australian horse racing. Other winners in the event include Appearance in 2012 and Cameo in 2013.

Keith F Nolan Classic recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Zanbagh Role Model Metaphorical 1:37.8
2013 Cameo Royal Descent Gold Epona 1:35.1
2012 Appearance She Goes To Rio Aliyana Tilde 1:38.0
2011 Brazilian Pulse Fibrillation Honor Net 1:52.0
2010 Slapstick Mirrasalo Spinnawitch 1:35.8
2009 Allez Wonder Above Perfection Miss Darcey 1:34.6
2008 Bernicia Raise Heavenly Glow 1.37:5