HobartVille Stakes

HobartVille Stakes.jpg

HobartVille Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st February 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Dissident

The HobartVille Stakes is a thrilling and exciting group 2 race that is held in late February every year at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The 1400m race is for three year old horses and is worth $200,000 in prize money. The HobartVille Stakes is run under set weight conditions and it normally attracts a good number of three year old quality horses in Australia.

The 2014 winner in the race was the Dissident with Atlante and Savvy Nature taking second and third respectively. The HobartVille Stakes takes place on the same day with a number of exciting races that include the Group 2 Silver Slippers Stakes and the Group 3 Millie Fox Stakes. The HobartVille Stakes is considered a good three year olds build up event for other bigger races in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The best progression race for the HobartVille Stakes is the group 1 Randwick Guineas and over the last few years, the race has provided some of the most high quality racing. Horses that do well in the HobartVille Stakes are lined up for other events including the Group 3 Phar Lap Stakes and the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas in March. In 2013, the HobartVille Stakes provided a number of group 1 winners in later races in the Carnival. Pierro for example won the HobartVille Stakes on course towards victory in both the Canterbury Stakes and the George Ryder Stakes.

It’s A Dundeel also was one of the horses that used the HobartVille Stakes as a spring board towards future success in the Sydney carnival. After finishing fourth in the HobartVille Stakes last year, the mare would go one to win the ATC Australian Derby and The Rosehill Guineas. Recent winners in the HobartVille Stakes include Pierro in 2013, Wild and Proud and the Dissident this year.

Hobartville Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Dissident Atlante Savvy Nature 1:25.0
2013 Pierro Rebel Dane Proisir 1:24.7
2012 Wild And Proud Manawanui Moment Of Change 1:26.5
2011 Ilovethiscity Retrieve Skilled 1:22.5
2010 Monton Shoot Out Captain Sonador 1:22.9
2009 Mic Mac Caymans Desuetude 1:22.9
2008 Serious Speed Murtajill Turffontein 1:23.4
2007 Mutawaajid Gold Edition Upper Echelon 1:23.3
2006 Racing To Win De Beers Flying Pegasus 1:22.9
2005 Outback Prince Eremein Dance Hero 1:21.9
2004 Impaler Allgunnadoit Handsome Ransom 1:23.8
2003 Thorn Park Hydrometer Shower Of Roses 1:22.5
2002 Lonhro Athens Moonflute 1:23.6
2001 Sir Clive Debrief Fouardee 1:26.4
2000 Fairway Over Condotti 1:28.3
1999 Arena Shinkansea Dracula 1:21.9
1998 Pleasure Giver Brave Prince Adam 1:24.3
1997 Monet’s Cove Star Covet Anthems 1:24.2
1996 Nothin’ Leica Dane Octagonal Catalan Opening 1:22.7
1995 Danewin Perfect World Marwina 1:26.8
1994 Clearly Chosen The Heavyweight Tenor 1:23.7
1993 Navy Seal Kingston Bay Chagall 1:21.8
1992 Take The Road Big Dreams Heroicity 1:24.0
1991 Pre Record Dr. Grace Dodecanise 1:25.1
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Majestic Boy Procol Harum 1:21.4
1989 Swiftly Carson Research From The Planet 1:22.0
1988 High Regard Park Express Beau Zam 1:22.0