Hill Stakes

Hill Stakes

Hill Stakes

Date: Saturday 19th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Junoob

The Hill Stakes is a 2000M race held during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival at the Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney New South Wales every year in September. The event is normally a weight-for-age group 2 showpiece that attracts a number of quality 3 year-olds and above average horses from across the country. The Hill Stakes is worth $200,000 in prize money and Moriarty last year capped a remarkable long distance run to claim the Hill Stakes title.

Coming in second and third respectively was Glencadam Gold and Masked Marvel. The race has over the years retained its exciting spark that many horse racers and trainers have come to accustom to it. The Hill Stakes is lined up on the same day with the Group 1 George Main Stakes which is a fine line up at Rosehill’s glorious turf. Three year olds that perform exceptionally well in the Hill Stakes can consider taking part in Group 2 races such as the Tea Rose Stakes and the Shorts that come later in the Spring Carnival.

Although the Hill Stakes is not one of the big money races in Australia’s horse racing, the event often attracts above average horses and is regarded as the ideal platform for three year olds looking to start on the high in their racing careers. In its proud history, the Hill Stakes has produced great super stars of the Turf including the Arena back in 1998 and Tie The Knot in 1999.

The Chelmsford Stakes run over 1600M is a great build up for three year olds looking to feature in the Hill Stakes. The last horse to win both races in the same year was Trusting back in 2011. The Group 3 Craven Plate is also considered a good progression especially for three year olds testing themselves in long distances. This year, the Hill Stakes is expected to be bigger and better and will remain one of the must see events in the Sydney Spring Carnival.

Hill Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Junoob Criterion Bagman 2:06.1
2013 Moriarty Glencadam Gold Masked Marvel 2:03.6
2012 Lamasery Mourayan Lights Of Heaven 2:06.2
2011 Trusting Hawk Island Tullamore 2:02.9
2010 Descarado Triple Honour Purple 1:56.4
2009 Miss Marielle Pacino Roman Emperor 1:56.1
2008 Fiumicino Dealer Principal Hurrah 1:57.3
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Desert War Eremein Grand Zulu 1:56.3
2005 Desert War Portland Singa Dizelle 1:56.7
2004 Natural Blitz Vouvray Just Polite 1:56.6
2003 Excellerator Platinum Scissors Carnegie Express 1:56.8
2002 Dress Circle Bedouin Republic Lass 1:56.6
2001 Mulan Princess Altiero Dottoressa 1:47.0
2000 Pasta Express Pravda Padfoot Charlie 1:57.8
1999 Tie The Knot Joss Sticks Melora 1:58.8
1998 Arena Yippyio Super Slew 1:57.2
1997 Ebony Grosve Alfa Sharscay 1:59.2
1996 Saintly Nothin’ Leica Dane Donar 1:56.3
1995 Stony Bay Flying Spur Joie Denise 1:57.4
1994 Slight Chance Simulcast Irish Rort 1:55.0
1993 Silk Ali Durbridge Kingston Bay 1:56.4
1992 Muirfield Village Super Impose Better Loosen Up 1:55.7
1991 Super Impose Just A Dancer Stargazer 1:56.7
1990 Eastern Classic Stargazer Right Missile 1:48.2
1989 Riverina Charm Zamoff Young Carbinier 1:45.6
1988 Natural Habit Balciano Lord Hybrow 1:53.9