Herbert Power Stakes

Herbert Power Stakes

Herbert Power Stakes

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Big Memory

The Herbert Power Stakes is a long distance Group 2 open handicap race worth up to $200,000 in prize money. The race is held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival at the iconic Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria, South East Australia. The Herbert Power Stakes is run over a distance of 2400M making it one of the major long distance races in the Carnival. The event was run as the Presentation Stakes over the last few years until the name was changed some years back.

The 2013 edition of the Herbert Power Stakes was a show of remarkable talent and pulsating long distance racing with the outstanding Sea Moon outrunning a number of able opponents to win the title. Oasis Bloom came through in second with Simenon having to settle for third. The Herbert Power Stakes will share the same stage and the same date with a number of exciting and big money Group 1 races including the Caulfield Cup, the Toorak Handicap and the Caulfield Guineas.

A lot of horse trainers look at the Herbert Power Stakes as the perfect build up for the Group 1 Caulfield Cup. Master O’Reily was the last horse to win the Herbert Power Stakes and the Caulfield Cup in the same year back in 2007. Although in most cases the Herbert Power Stakes is often graced by above average horses, in recent years the event has managed to produce a number of remarkable champions.

In 2009 for example, Shocking finished second in the race on course towards breathtaking wins in the Group 3 Lexus Stakes and the premier long distance race of the Carnival – The Melbourne Cup. Other notable winners in the race include Shewardi who won the race back in 2012, Dolphin Jo in 2008, and Linton who won the race in 2010. The Herbert Power Stakes is a great race and is always full of excitement and intriguing racing. The race is one of the major Group 2 highlights in the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

Herbert Power Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Big Memory Signoff Let’s Make A Deal 2:26.6
2013 Sea Moon Oasis Bloom Simenon 2:29.9
2012 Shahwardi Excluded Exceptionally 2:28.8
2011 Shewan Tanby Moyenne Corniche 2:30.7
2010 Linton Cedarberg Precedence 2:29.4
2009 Alcopop Shocking Hissing Sid 2:27.2
2008 Dolphin Jo The Wolverine Cefalu 2:30.2
2007 Master O’reilly Zavite Reggie 2:30.0
2006 Growl Dracs Back Siamun 2:29.3
2005 Leica Falcon Sarrera Hugs Dancer (Fr) 2:29.5
2004 Rizon Grey Song Zazzman 2:31.7
2003 Yakama Physique Vicksburg 2:30.7
2002 The Secondmortgage Requiem Thong Classic 2:29.8
2001 Freemason The Secondmortgage Rain Gauge 2:30.7
2000 Majestic Avenue Bulkhead Bohemiath 2:31.4
1999 Rogan Josh The Hind Our Position 2:27.6
1998 Magneto Vitrinite Star Binder 2:32.7
1997 Bonsai Pipeline Bright Spot Crying Game 2:28.9
1996 The Bandette Alcove Skybeau 2:30.4
1995 Unsolved Few Are Chosen Zero Limit 2:28.7
1994 Solo Show Bullwinkle Tawlord 2:34.5
1993 Great Vintage In The Event Frontier Boy 2:28.2
1992 Aquidity Kawtuban Ali Boy 2:34.0
1991 Princess Pushy Grooming Starmatic 2:30.2
1990 Just A Dancer Frontier Boy Ali Boy 2:31.0
1989 Nayrizi Apollo Run Non Aligned 2:29.5
1988 Congressman Shantaroun Apollo Run 2:31.4