HDF McNeil Stakes

HDF McNeil Stakes

HDF McNeil Stakes

Date: Saturday 29th August 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Chivalry

The HDF McNeil Stakes is an exclusive three year-olds only Group 3 race that takes center stage annually in August during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The race is held at the Caulfield racecourse and is run over a sprint distance of 1200M. In the last decade or so, the HDF McNeil Stakes has grown remarkably to become one of the most popular sprint races especially for emerging and upcoming super stars of the turf.

The event is today worth up to $125,000 in prize money and last year, Fat ā€˜nā€™ Rocking capped a modest start to the spring carnival with a hard fought victory in this race. Coming through in second and third respectively was the outstanding Prince Harada and Thermal Current. The HDF McNeil Stakes often attracts above average horses and shares the same date with the Group 1 Memsie Stakes.

Although the event is not considered one of the biggest horse races in Australia, the race often produces great champions of the turf. Satin Shoes for example finished a distant eighth in the 2011 edition of the HDF McNeil Stakes but did remarkably well to finish third in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes. Sistine Angel on the other hand won the 2010 edition of the HDF McNeil Stakes on course towards a great victory in the Edward Manifold Stakes a few weeks later.

Such is the quality and talent that graces the HDF McNeil Stakes every year and even in 2009, StarsPangledbanner won this race and later produced a strong performance to take home the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. In the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the HDF McNeil Stakes is expected to prove yet another ideal and popular stage for emerging and talented sprinters to showcase their capabilities for horse racing lovers in Victoria and beyond to enjoy.

HDF McNeil Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Chivalry Nordic Empire Awesome Rock 1:10.2
2013 Fast ‘n’ Rocking Prince Harada Thermal Current 1:10.8
2012 Lady Of Harrods Kabayan Shamexpress 1:10.2
2011 Golden Archer Cross Of Gold Vatican 1:09.0
2010 Sistine Angel Servant Intencion 1:13.4
2009 Starspangledbanner Tollesprit Eclair Fastpass 1:10.2
2008 Sugar Babe Whogotbeyou Cardinal Virtue 1:10.4
2007 Scenic Blast Pins On Parade Marching 1:10.6
2006 Miss Finland Haradasun Due Sasco 1:10.6
2005 Danerich Line Account Izanami 1:06.7
2004 Tahni Girl Classiconi Oratorio 1:04.1
2003 Cahula Cross Current Abdullah 1:05.4
2002 Bel Esprit Yell Before Too Long 1:01.9
2001 Tully Dane Raja Lane King of Prussia 1:05.6
2000 Rapid Man Little Dozer Homewrecker 1:06.1
1999 Honour Thy Name Fappianos Son Miss Pennymoney 1:06.1
1998 Theatre Jumalique Major Fun 1:03.9
1997 La Baraka Towkay Guineas 1:04.1
1996 Valourina Investigation Checmour 1:03.9
1995 Gold Ace Sykes Street Talk 1:03.6
1994 Danzero Linbird Hurricane Sky 1:04.6
1993 Sequalo Lady Jakeo King Kora 1:05.2
1992 Simonstad Tanjian Prince Forever Intrigue 1:07.1
1991 Tierce Naturalism Business Beat 1:05.6
1990 Manitor The Curragh Clubman 1:06.6
1989 Goold Old Ted Street Ruffian Parotime 1:06.9