Golden Slipper Stakes

Golden Slipper Stakes

Golden Slipper Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $3,500,000
2014 Winner: Mossfun

The Golden Slipper Stakes is an exciting race for 2 year olds held in Sydney every year normally in April at the Rosehill Racecourse. The Group 1 race is worth $3.5 million in prize money and is raced over a distance of 1200m under specific weight conditions. In 2013, the race was won by Overreach. Sidestep and Sweet Idea followed in second and third respectively. The Golden Slipper Stake was launched in 1957.

Although it started with a prize money of just 20,000 pounds, the race has grown strength by strength and is today the world’s most lucrative race for 2 year olds. The race has also featured in the Sydney Autumn Race Carnival as one of the major events. The Slipper stake race on 5th April at Rosehill is expected to be an ideal curtain raiser for this year’s Sydney Autumn Race carnival. Many horse trainers and owners view the Golden Slipper Stakes as the premier horse racing event for young horses.

Over the last decades, the race has been attracting the best 2yo mares in the country. In most cases, winners at the Golden Slipper often make very good competitors in other major turfs. Some of the notable mares that won the Golden Slippers and went on to claim bigger victories later include the Inaugural winner Todman in 1957. Pierro in 2012, Sepoy in 2011, Miss Finland in 2006, and Belle De Jour in 2000 are also worth the mention. Recently though, after finishing fourth in the 2013 race, Guelph would win the ATC Sires Produce Stakes.

Gai Waterhouse colt Pierro on the other hand is a Sydney Triple Crown champion after winning Group 1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes and the Group 2 ATC Champagne Stakes along with the Golden Slipper Stakes title in 2012. The Golden Slipper Stakes is always an eventful race that a lot of horse racing enthusiasts look forward to. The 2014 race promises more fireworks and enthralling horse racing like never before.

Golden Slipper Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Mossfun Bring Me The Maid Weary 1:12.1
2013 Overreach Sidestep Sweet Idea 1:11.0
2012 Pierro Snitzerland Samaready 1:09.7
2011 Sepoy Mosheen Elite Falls 1:10.0
2010 Crystal Lily Decision Time More Strawberries 1:10.7
2009 Phelan Ready Headway Manhattan Rain 1:11.7
2008 Sebring Von Costa De Hero Portillo 1:12.9
2007 Forensics Zizou Meurice 1:09.3
2006 Miss Finland Pure Energy Churchill Downs 1:09.5
2005 Stratum Fashions Afield Media 1:09.6
2004 Dance Hero Charge Forward Alinghi 1:08.6
2003 Polar Success How Funny Hasna 1:09.0
2002 Calaway Gal Victory Vein Choisir 1:08.8
2001 Ha Ha Excellerator Red Hannigan 1:08.9
2000 Belle Du Jour Crowned Glory Assertive Lad 1:09.5
1999 Catbird Align Shogun Lodge 1:09.9
1998 Prowl Shovhog Glammis 1:09.5
1997 Guineas Encounter Regal Chamber 1:08.9
1996 Merlene Paint Flavour 1:09.3
1995 Flying Spur Octagonal Millrich 1:10.2
1994 Danzero St Covet Racer’s Edge 1:09.8
1993 Bint Marscay Justice Prevails Sports Works 1:08.8
1992 Burst Clan O’sullivan Loving Cup 1:10.2
1991 Tierce Canonise Big Dreams 1:09.3
1990 Canny Lad With Me Paklani 1:15.4
1989 Courtza Paris Opera Show County 1:12.8
1988 Star Watch Comely Girl Starting Lass 1:13.0